Old 04-20-05, 08:31 PM

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Originally Posted by JugglerDave
I'm a relative newbie... over the past year I've lost about 18 pounds, and I do a 32 mile ride about once a week.

I was wondering what the maximum calorie deficit can be for a single ride? I've read that you have only 1500-2000 calories of glycose in the muscles to be used before bonking. I've seen posts recommending eating 250-350 calories per hour. I would estimate that for a fairly fast riding pace 600 calories per hour is not out of the question, and 35-40 calories per mile is about right for my weight (175) and speed (16 mph on a hybrid).

My question is whether the 1500-2000 calories of glucose is an upper bound on the net calorie deficit during a ride, because it's very difficult to replace the glucose stores while riding?

E.g. assuming all the above, does this mean that I can either ride for 40 miles without eating anything, to the point of bonking, and burn about 1600 calories? Or I can burn 600 and eat 300 calories for net -300 calories, for about 5+ hours (75-90 miles) and have the same 1600 calorie deficit maximum?

-=$>Dave<$=-

Well, do you really want to know how to eat optimally for fat loss from riding, or do you just want an estimation that may or may not work, which could lead to even more frustration down the line when things possibly don't work out?