Old 05-29-05, 06:11 AM
Dewbert
Mettle to the Pedals

Bikes: Giant Cypress hyrbrid, Giant OCR2, Giant OCRc2, Giant Suede (wife's)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've always been a big guy. I was the fat kid in school. When I graduated high school I was about 6'2" and 265lbs. In college, I lost a little weight doing slim fast, but quit because I couldn't afford the slim fast shakes. A few years ago, I lost a little weight playing racquetball, but my r-ball partner stopped playing so I quit that too.

About a year ago, my grandfather had open heart surgery. My other grandfather died a few years earlier from heart problems. I had been diagnosed as a diabetic about 3 years prior. On a family vacation in DC, we were walking from the Lincoln memorial to the train stop in Arlington Cemetary. My daughter noticed that I was having a hard time with the walk over the bridge. I was 310lbs that day.

I realized at that point, that all the previous successes I'd acheived in losing weight were tied to an expensive product or an activity that involved someone else. That night I went to a book store and started looking for an exercise program that didn't require a specific time, place, equipment or another person. I bought a book on Yoga and have been doing it every single day without exception.

I also started a way of eating (aka diet) called SugarBusters. It's basically concerned with whole foods, lower carbs (but includes fruits and veggies) and eating things that have values lower on the glycemic index.

Early this spring someone at work noticed that I was drinking 2 or 3 44oz diet cokes a day at work and mentioned that the caffeine might not be so good for me. Since that comment, I've only had water or milk to drink...mostly water.