Old 03-12-11, 09:17 PM
lphilpot
Saved by Grace

Bikes: Only one at a time; currently a 2012 Specialized Tricross Sport

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I must be weird... I've had no luck at all with progressives.

I've worn bifocals for several years, with the bottom lens set to keyboard / book distance, and the top to monitor / arm's length distance (I work in IT, hence the computer references). Although my far-distance vision can be improved a bit with glasses, I can drive safely without them and usually just wear standard sunglasses anyway. I have to simply get a bit closer to distant signs to differentiate between 3, 8, B, etc. Theoretically, progressives would be a big help while driving, since all distances would be covered. Theoretically.

About six years ago I gave progressives a shot. Although I was told it might take a few weeks to fully acclimate, I couldn't do it. I ended up with eye strain, headaches adn neck (muscle) strain since I would unconciously tense up my neck trying to find the area in focus. Plus, the area of clear focus was only about the size of a quarter to half-dollar at arm's length (~30-ish mm). Everything else was blurry. If I looked at a phone book, the name was clear, but the number blurry. I literally had to point my nose at each and every word as I read. It ground my productivity at work to a standstill.

So, I went back to bifocals.

Then, just last December I gave progressives another shot. I was told there were much newer designs, better patterns, etc., etc. - Same deal, no better at all. They're still in my desk drawer and I'm using my previous bifocals.