Old 12-10-11, 09:01 PM
Myosmith
Lover of Old Chrome Moly

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked 23 Times in 17 Posts
I started riding at 270+ and can tell you first hand that much of the above advice was true for me. I started with a bike too small for me and rode with the seat lower than it should have been (the notorious "barstool" position). I also started with a "comfort" saddle that was the worst investment I ever made. Forgive me if this is blunt, but it was the best piece of advice I got early on: If your thighs already rub together, the last thing you need is a big chunk of foam rubber or gel wedged inbetween them when you are trying to pedal. A seat with a narrow front and properly spaced support for the sitbones (the bottom of your pelvis) is the way to go. Some seats have a cutout that relieves pressure on the tailbone.

Riding shorts with a chamios are a good investment, not for the padding, but for the reduced friction between your upper thighs. You can get styles that are intended to be worn under other clothing if you don't like the spandex look. I wear them under athletic, outdoor sports, or even jean shorts. I also have a couple pair of riding shorts designed for mountainbike riders.

Make sure your bike really fits you correctly. This will enhance your comfort far more than any padded seat could ever dream of. There are some online resources that show you how to fit a bike, but beware that not all of them are accurate. Several books explain the process well. One of my favorites is The Big Book of Bicycling by Emily Furia and the editors of Bicycling Magazine. It devotes an entire chapter to achieving proper fit.