Old 08-03-05, 09:00 AM
slooney

Bikes: Trek 930 mutt (beater) Gary Fisher '98 Paragon

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by atbman
Kids can do astonishing distances with the right encouragement and experience.

As to what bike, cheaper bikes are heavier and have very little resale value when they grow out of them. Because they are heavier, children are more easily discouraged when they start to ride further. Any faults they have also show up more, because the components are lower quality, especially the gears.

I've been coaching youngsters from 5 upwards for about 10 years and when they get their first decent bike (and I guess in US terms, that's about the $200 mark) they really love them and it boosts their enthusiasm and wish to ride, which in turn boosts their fitness and so the virtuous circle goes.

Try the weight of the Walmart type bike against the better one and then compare it with her weight. You may get a nasty shock...

Unless your budget is really tight, spoil her - it will pay off in the long run
This really nails it, IMHO. We were given a cheap bike for my son, a department store two-wheeler, and the thing weighs more than my comuter bike (well...). We quickly moved on from that beast.