Old 12-20-12, 07:17 PM
Burton
Certified Bike Brat

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by MadProphet
OK, I'm new to this whole bike game, but...what if he just wants to upgrade just to upgrade? (You know - GAS - gear acquisition syndrome) In most hobbies, that's a goal of a lot of players. When I had my Harleys - and I'm sure the same is true now - you could go to any HD dealer on any weekend and watch a veritable parade of bike owners in there buying bits of kit just to buy bits of kit. I put more money into my FatBoy than many people make in a year - just cause (at the time) I could. While I'd love to have some of that money back, I don't regret it.

I would like to upgrade my wheels and tires. I wish I could find a simple, concise 'instruction' web page on doing just that. "If this fits, you can use these" or "these are the measurements that matter" so I could look at the specs of my current gear and know what to buy - or what I CAN buy - to replace them.

As far as I know, nothing's wrong with what I have. I have the stock wheels, rims, spokes, hubs and tires. I'd like to replace the tires with something higher pressure and with more deliberate puncture protection, but aside from 700c x 38, I've no idea what I can use. I don't know where/what to measure to know if I can go wider and I'm pretty sure I don't want to go skinnier. I've straight up asked the LBS I got my bike from what tires I could upgrade to. They looked through their catalog and said I should keep these. Several things I've asked about got the same reception. I'm not sure if the bike actually has great gear or if they don't carry good gear. Most businesses are more than happy to replace perfectly good stuff with something 'better' cause they make money! I know my 8.3 doesn't have everything the 8.6 has, so I'm SURE there's some upgrades.