Old 04-02-14, 12:27 PM
OmegaGator

Bikes: Trek 7.3 FX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Barrettscv
You might get by with a 36 hole rear wheel designed for touring for $150. There is far less weight on the front wheel, so the standard wheel should be strong enough.
Ya, that what I've been seeing a lot around this forum, looks like 36 spoke rims, with high tension, are the safest bet. Good point about only getting the rear wheels as it carries most of the weigh. Thanks!

Originally Posted by bbeasley
Please be sure to check with some folks your height. Fit is everything and 6'7" might put you on the outer edge of stock bikes. I'm not an expert and I'm almost 1' shorter . I ride with a fellow who's 6'4" and he feels like he's a tad tall for his largest of the brand bike.
Ya, I've been looking around about this, I knew my height would give me an issue with stock bikes. With my heights and weight the bikes I can choose from are very limited. :'( Thank for your input.

Originally Posted by Ursa Minor
I know zip about bike fitting etc but welcome to the bike forums. I've found many wonderful supportive people
here and I hope you will too.

Charlie
Thank you very much, I'm sure I will.

Originally Posted by brawlo
I'd ride the bike with the stock wheels until you had an issue. If anything, just get someone to check the spoke tension and perhaps increase it a bit for your weight. Ride light and I believe that the stock wheels shouldn't be that much of an issue. Spend the time afterwards saving for something better if you think you want it, or saving for some new wheels. I rode 32 spokes while commuting to uni many years ago, when I was weighing in at 150kg/330lb. There was a little off road section, but most of the ride was on road/paths and I never had a problem with the wheels.

Perhaps also consider the Sedona if it might suit your tastes. It comes in a slightly larger frame.