View Single Post
Old 05-03-14, 02:42 AM
Rowan

Mentioned: 125 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1454 Post(s)
Liked 85 Times in 40 Posts
Originally Posted by Ramona_W
I have now spent four days as one of those despised creatures known as the Walmart assembler. The hardest part is not spending hours trying to tweak parts that were poorly manufactured/damaged in transit although some people would probably say I devoted way too much time the other morning to making sure the front wheel of a cruiser didn't rub on the fender. (A colleague said "That's probably good enough. I mean, that's what Walmart stuff is: basically good enough." Yeah, but before I was an assembler, I was a mechanic and I don't want it to be "good enough"; I want it to be right.)

The hardest part is not deciphering the pictures and instructions clearly written in a language that isn't English then translated into English by someone who doesn't speak it very well. But I can tell already that a number of these items will be returned to the store because some parent has cracked the plastic windshield trying to put it in the frame or some kid has been injured falling on the small plastic bicycle attached to the Barbie bike that took two people and six hours of swearing to attach.