JRA

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally posted by lotek
I wouldn't say that #9 is an improvement
9 isn't a prime number, either
You're right, though. The aluminum frame is not a major step in the evolution of the bicycle. It's more likely to be an evolutionary cul de sac, although I admit to having an aluminum frame bike which I like it quite a bit.

The original question was: "what are the five best improvement in bicycles?", and there's no way I'd put the aluminum frame on my list.
Originally posted by LET
I'm old enough to remember the changes caused by some of these items hitting the mass market. There's quite an evolution that has taken place through time.
I'm old enough to remember all of them. When I started riding, bicycles with gears were virtually unkown, as were bicycle with narrow tires. So that's where I'd start my list...

#1 Narrow tires - even more important than gears. The first narrow tire bike I had was a single speed bicycle with a coaster brake. Going from the balloon tire bikes I was familiar with to a narrow tire bike was the biggest single improvement in bicycle performance I have ever experienced. All the changes that have occured since are minor in comparison.

#2 Gears - The first gears I ever had on a bicycle involved the 3-speed hub. It was quite an improvement, but if I had to choose between a bike with balloon tires and gears, or a narrow tire bike without gears, I'd take the bike without gears any day.
Originally posted by MichaelW
Hub gears get a bum rap from some people. In their day, it was 3 hub gears or 3 derailleur gears.
In it's day, the 3-speed hub was a major improvement. The 10-speed was a big thing when it came along but, in reality, only a minor improvement over the bikes with 3-speed hubs.

Originally posted by LET
Center-pull brakes were a huge impact when they came out. Reliable stopping power!!
Oh, indeed! So that has to be...
#3 Center-pull brakes