Old 03-22-06, 02:19 PM
jennings780

Bikes: '06 Cannondale CAAD8, '04 Cannondale Ironman 2000

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by C_heath
Well, Im far from a doctor. However, After "rolling" my ankle several times over the years, it has come the time for surgery. 18 degrees of "twist" of roll in your ankle from outside to inside warrants ligament surgury. After my last roll over (about 3 months ago) I got vomit sick. This had never happened and so I sought the ol Doc. After an Xray, he let me know quickly that I had 26 degrees of roll in my ankle.

He wore Xrays gloves, turned my ankle as far as I could stand and took the pic. He had never seen 26 degrees of stretch in ankle ligaments. You have 3 ligaments holding up your ankle on the outside of your foot looking something like this.... \I/ or the letter "Y" and 2 of mine are lying in the bottom of my foot.

Think of a old rubber band, dried out and then stretched, it the elasticity is not present anymore.

I dont know your current situation, however, my doc said this is like a concussion, the more it happens, the easier it is to happen again. Until you get to the point where I am (26 degrees). Im 33, in good shape, ride every day, but I didnt heal my foot when I would turn it.