View Single Post
Old 09-14-03, 11:15 AM

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Rear tire problems... STILL!!!!!

Ok, it all started last Saturday- I was out doing a long ride, and in the process, I ran over some sharp objects. I stopped right away and checked my rear tire. Stupidly, I figured I got a lucky break, because the tire did not go flat.

Sunday morning, I got outside for my morning ride, and the tire was flat. I changed the tube and inserted a brand new inner tube- checked the tire after reinflating, and saw no problems. I went off and did a 55 mile ride that day.

Monday I was off riding, but Tuesday, I wanted to do the same 55 mile ride, so I started riding my early morning ride. I got through the first 35 miles fine, but somewhere in about the 36th mile, I got another flat in my rear tire. I quickly changed the tire, checked to make sure the tire wasn't going flat, then jumped back on and continued with my ride.

I'd barely gotten more than 3 miles, when I hit another flat. Doh! I figured this time what was happening was that there must have been a sharp object dislodged in my tire, and I hadn't been cleaning the tire to make sure the object was dislodged. I spent a couple of minutes with a washcloth wiping the inside of my tire, then checked the inside and saw nothing embedded. I had an old repaired inner tube, so rather than fix the other inner tube, I used the old repaired inner tube. I wrestled the tire back onto the rims, then as I was pumping, the valve broke on the inner tube! So I stripped the tire back off the rim, pulled out the inner tube that had the hole, found the new puncture and repaired it. Then I blew up the inner tube and made sure there were no more holes, then put the inner tube back in the tire, and got that tire back on the rim. I checked to make sure I wouldn't get a pinched tire, then reinflated the tire.