Advertise on Bikeforums.net



User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,918
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Racing twice in one day.. upgrade points for both races?

    Racing next weekend and they offer a 4/5 race then 3 hours later a 4 race. If I race both and place will I get upgrade points for both races?
    Please remember that all statements unless quoted, are strictly my opinion of what happened. That there are as many opinions as there are spectators attending. I just choose to publish mine on this forum. And would NEVER intend to purposely hurt or discredit any other cyclist.... With that said... HTFU!

  2. #2
    Oh The Huge Manatee Lithuania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    mabra
    Posts
    4,528
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i dont see any reason why you wouldnt

  3. #3
    Race to train jrennie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    suffering on the back
    Posts
    3,115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes you can.

  4. #4
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    26,104
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, do both. My first season I was racing twice a day like that whenever I could. Only took three weeks to get the Cat 4 upgrade, and I had 1/3 of my upgrade points already.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,918
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looking into it with more detail it lists the 4/5 race as "4/5 Masters 30+". Looking to get my CAT 3 points and dont want to waste money and time racing if I cant get points using this race. Think I remember reading somewhere about points only being allowed if the race dosent state Masters but if the race states the CAT then yes.


    CAT 4 is just CAT 4......... so I know that one is ok
    Please remember that all statements unless quoted, are strictly my opinion of what happened. That there are as many opinions as there are spectators attending. I just choose to publish mine on this forum. And would NEVER intend to purposely hurt or discredit any other cyclist.... With that said... HTFU!

  6. #6
    Race to train jrennie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    suffering on the back
    Posts
    3,115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you can earn points in masters races up to a 2 upgrade. From 2-1 has to be done in elite categories

  7. #7
    . botto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    40,336
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wfrogge View Post
    Looking into it with more detail it lists the 4/5 race as "4/5 Masters 30+". Looking to get my CAT 3 points and dont want to waste money and time racing if I cant get points using this race. Think I remember reading somewhere about points only being allowed if the race dosent state Masters but if the race states the CAT then yes.


    CAT 4 is just CAT 4......... so I know that one is ok
    didn't they change the rules, stating the race had to be a certain length/time?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,918
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by botto View Post
    didn't they change the rules, stating the race had to be a certain length/time?
    Both races meet the requirement... If they didnt we just wouldnt tell USA Cycling
    Please remember that all statements unless quoted, are strictly my opinion of what happened. That there are as many opinions as there are spectators attending. I just choose to publish mine on this forum. And would NEVER intend to purposely hurt or discredit any other cyclist.... With that said... HTFU!

  9. #9
    Senior Member flaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    515
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A related question: in a stage race, do you get credited for each mass start, or just once for the event as a whole?

  10. #10
    Glimmers of form esammuli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Escondido, CA
    My Bikes
    Cannondale SystemSix 3, Specialized Stumpjumper M4 Comp
    Posts
    1,542
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You get credit for each start but from 3-2 there is a 15 point cap for the entire race+ GC points.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •