Advertise on Bikeforums.net



User Tag List

Page 48 of 53 FirstFirst ... 384647484950 ... LastLast
Results 1,176 to 1,200 of 1303

Thread: My geek thread

  1. #1176
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,931
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ridethecliche View Post
    Well, that's what I'm looking at. Just OC the processor a hair and being able to get rid of a ton of crappy software running in the background for no reason as well as bloatware. I think T-mobile hasn't disabled mobile broadband or tethering though my new laptop doesn't seem to like to tether...
    Yeah, you can blow away bloatware with Titanium Backup, and it's awesome (needs root). Regarding tethering, T-mobile probably needs to enable the hotspot connection for you... for a small monthly fee. With the free hotspot, I have had no trouble with any device ever connecting to my phone over wifi. iPhones, iPads, laptops, macbooks, iPods, they all work flawlessly. We watch Netflix on my laptop or my wife's iPad through my phone a lot. My bet is that you just need to root and install the hotspot software (which needs root access).

  2. #1177
    Village Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bahstaaaaan
    Posts
    19,901
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm online right now using my phone as a hotspot, so that isn't the issue though tmo has kicked e off a few times which is annoying.

    That's one of the big root reasons though. I just need to find a good cyanogen guide for my phone so I'm not left with a brick. That and I need to figure out if I'll lose some of the stuff that's saved on my phone now and if so, what that stuff is.

    I should probably back up contacts etc to my sd card now that I have a 32 gig card...

    Honestly, I have no issues with my phone. I just want to keep getting some android updates as well. Tmo stopped pushing updates and I'm only on 2.2
    Truth, like light, blinds. Falsehood, on the contrary, is a beautiful twilight that enhances every object.
    -Albert Camus

    Hammer Nutrition 15% discount!!!

  3. #1178
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,931
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't use phone contacts, I always use google contacts when I add them. If my phone disappears, I don't lose anything other than configuration (Tasker would be a bit of a hit).

  4. #1179
    Killing Rabbits
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One of our computers at work is having some hard drive issues.

    I pulled the drive out and put it in an external USB drive mount on another system. I can open the drive in windows explorer but when I open the folder containing the instrument software I get a "cyclic redundancy check" error.

    I ran Chkdsk but that doesn't seem to help. Any other ideas?

  5. #1180
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,931
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Haven't had that one before, but I'd look at some of the troubleshooting guides on a google search for "CRC hard disk" and see if anything looks good.

  6. #1181
    Senior Member Ultraslide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    My Bikes
    73 Raleigh Supercourse, 99 Specialized Stumpjumer, 08 LeMond Tourmalet
    Posts
    782
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you run chkdsk with the /R option? You may need a sector scan.
    Sometimes hard disk CRC errors can be caused by bad ram. Run memtest as well.
    All I'm saying is ... large pigs can run faster than you think.

  7. #1182
    Not actually Tmonk TMonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    My Bikes
    caad9, capo (fixed), centurion dave scott 10sp, dolan pre cursa (track)
    Posts
    6,080
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    note to self: don't spill a couple droplets of con nitric acid on ur arm
    "Your beauty is an aeroplane;
    so high, my heart cannot bear the strain." -A.C. Jobim, Triste

  8. #1183
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,931
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just ordered the rare Google Nexus 4.

    Can an Android user be smug? I feel smug.

  9. #1184
    fair weather cyclist pjcampbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Green Mountains
    My Bikes
    Colnago c50
    Posts
    1,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone know who the WKO 2.2 activation works? I was tinkering with registry and my WKO stopped working (it said my trial expired on my Paid for version of the software). I don't know if this was coincidence or a result of my dinking with things. I e-mailed them and asked them to give me a new key and then voila, it was fixed WITHOUT me having to re-enter anything.
    Last edited by pjcampbell; 12-03-12 at 02:35 PM.

  10. #1185
    Elite Fred mollusk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Edge City
    My Bikes
    2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son
    Posts
    10,588
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just thought that I would drop by and say "hello".

    Actually I have been doing some very geeky things lately. I have been designing mini-folding horn speakers for applications where there is limited amplification and high sound pressure level requirements with a decent audio experience. Fun stuff. Versions 1 and 2 were an off-set front loaded horn and a tapped horn. In the first one I ported the rear space to get the treble and it worked like a charm! The second had awesome bass for a 3" cheap driver, but the mid-range and up suffered a lot.

    The next one will be a rear loaded horn, but that will be tricky with the space constraints. In theory it would work the best.

    Cheers!
    I'm the world's forgotten boy. The one who's searchin', searchin' to destroy.

  11. #1186
    Senior Member Homebrew01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ffld Cnty Connecticut
    My Bikes
    Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
    Posts
    15,100
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    So I just got an android incredible somthing-or-other phone, and wondering why the map function sucks so much compared to the iPhone. When you are driving the iPhone shows a blue dot almost exactly matching where the car is. But with the android, the blue arrow is all over the place. I was in the pet store but it showed me in the river. Is there a better version, or some setting I need to change ?
    Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike

  12. #1187
    Senior Member shovelhd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Western MA
    My Bikes
    Yes
    Posts
    11,322
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you turn the GPS on? If you don't, it navigates by cell tower, which would explain your situation.

  13. #1188
    Senior Member Homebrew01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ffld Cnty Connecticut
    My Bikes
    Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
    Posts
    15,100
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shovelhd View Post
    Did you turn the GPS on? If you don't, it navigates by cell tower, which would explain your situation.
    Bingo. I guess I had a bunch of settings off after reading all the warning screens that pop up.
    I'm a smartphone noob
    Last edited by Homebrew01; 01-18-13 at 07:27 PM.
    Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike

  14. #1189
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,931
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Write it down, as this is the last time you will say that Android's map program sucks compared to the iPhone's

    I love being able to say (in Google Now) "Navigate to Sea World San Antonio" and the next thing I hear is directions.
    Last edited by waterrockets; 01-18-13 at 09:13 PM.

  15. #1190
    Village Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bahstaaaaan
    Posts
    19,901
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone have a used but not dead android phone for sale? Mine is about to commit suicide and I can't plonk down for a new one right now. Gotta check with family too.
    Truth, like light, blinds. Falsehood, on the contrary, is a beautiful twilight that enhances every object.
    -Albert Camus

    Hammer Nutrition 15% discount!!!

  16. #1191
    **** that mattm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    CALI
    Posts
    10,925
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have some IDE hard drives I want to get data off of - what's the best IDE->USB adapter thingy? I see lots of options online, but some of them are just IDE->USB cords with no power source. (no, I'm not really a hw guy..)

  17. #1192
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    My Bikes
    ?
    Posts
    1,088
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Finance is in the middle of building their forecast and a user crashed our obiee presentation server today. They had 17 sessions open at the time this happened.

  18. #1193
    Senior Member shovelhd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Western MA
    My Bikes
    Yes
    Posts
    11,322
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mattm View Post
    I have some IDE hard drives I want to get data off of - what's the best IDE->USB adapter thingy? I see lots of options online, but some of them are just IDE->USB cords with no power source. (no, I'm not really a hw guy..)
    Your best bet is a cheap USB external drive enclosure.

  19. #1194
    Killing Rabbits
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't say it's the best but we use an Icy Box mount like this one at work. No complaints


    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hard-Drive-E.../dp/B000B8TT5I

  20. #1195
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,931
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    +1 on the cheap enclosure. Should be able to find something for less than $20 out there. Just go 3.5" IDE to USB (unless they are 2.5" drives -- then the price goes down).

    Quote Originally Posted by ridethecliche View Post
    Anyone have a used but not dead android phone for sale? Mine is about to commit suicide and I can't plonk down for a new one right now. Gotta check with family too.
    We pass ours on to the kids when they get upgraded. I'd recommend the HTC Incredible (Verizon) off of ebay -- they're going for $75, and it's a pretty sweet phone for being 3 years old.

  21. #1196
    Village Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bahstaaaaan
    Posts
    19,901
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool. Thanks. I was hoping to snag an S2 that way. I have an old galaxy S1. It is really really unhappy. I think my aunt has an old S1 too, I'll see if she'll part with it since she just got an S3!
    Truth, like light, blinds. Falsehood, on the contrary, is a beautiful twilight that enhances every object.
    -Albert Camus

    Hammer Nutrition 15% discount!!!

  22. #1197
    Senior Member Homebrew01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ffld Cnty Connecticut
    My Bikes
    Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
    Posts
    15,100
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Does anyone know about calling MSSQL stored procedures from PHP (ver 5.4) ?
    I've seen PHP for the first time today. We want to replace embedded SQL code with SP calls, passing variables.

    If a sql table has 10 columns, but I just want to update 2, can that be done ? How does SQL know which columns are getting passed to it as variables ? Based on the variables being the same as the SQL column names ?

    I assume a bicycle forum is the correct place for this type of question
    Last edited by Homebrew01; 02-06-13 at 12:10 PM.
    Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike

  23. #1198
    **** that mattm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    CALI
    Posts
    10,925
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I haven't done PHP in a long time, but I think this is what you need to call an SP: http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.mssql-execute.php

    Separately, to UPDATE colums the syntax is something like:

    "UPDATE my_table
    SET col1=value1, col3=value3
    WHERE col1=value4"

    http://www.w3schools.com/SQl/sql_update.asp


    Ugh, I hate databases.. glad I don't need to mess with them at work. Good luck.

  24. #1199
    Senior Member Homebrew01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ffld Cnty Connecticut
    My Bikes
    Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
    Posts
    15,100
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Thanks. I'm OK with the SQL end, just not sure how the variables (parameters) get handled. In your example, I want to update col1 & col3, do I need a placeholder somewhere for col2 ? Or does SQL use the actual variable names of @col1 and @col3 to match to the SQL column names, so that I can ignore the fact there are 8 other columns that I don't care about for the update ?

    It's the PHP end I'm unsure about.
    Last edited by Homebrew01; 02-06-13 at 01:06 PM.
    Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike

  25. #1200
    Senior Member agoodale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Murrieta, CA
    Posts
    1,032
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mattm View Post
    I haven't done PHP in a long time, but I think this is what you need to call an SP: http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.mssql-execute.php

    Separately, to UPDATE colums the syntax is something like:

    "UPDATE my_table
    SET col1=value1, col3=value3
    WHERE col1=value4"

    http://www.w3schools.com/SQl/sql_update.asp


    Ugh, I hate databases.. glad I don't need to mess with them at work. Good luck.
    a simple MSSQL SP for the sample above (slightly modified) would be:

    CREATE PROCEDURE [dbo].[MY_Table_Update]
    @RecordToUpdate as int
    , @NewInt as int
    , @NewVarchar as varchar(50)
    AS
    begin
    UPDATE my_table
    SET col2=@NewInt
    , col3=@NewVarchar
    WHERE col1=@RecordToUpdate
    end

    To execute the SP
    execute MY_Table_Update @RecordtoUpdate, @NewInt, @NewVarChar

Page 48 of 53 FirstFirst ... 384647484950 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •