Advertise on Bikeforums.net



User Tag List

Page 49 of 52 FirstFirst ... 394748495051 ... LastLast
Results 1,201 to 1,225 of 1289

Thread: My geek thread

  1. #1201
    Packfodding 3 caloso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    My Bikes
    Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper
    Posts
    29,033
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Has anyone converted cassette tapes to mp3? If so, any thoughts about the best way to go about doing this?
    Cyclists of the world, unite! You have nothing to lube but your chains!

  2. #1202
    Killing Rabbits
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Old tapes will sound like crap. If you really badly wanted them the only way I can think of doing it is to connect the earphone out with microphone in then record a series of .wav files then convert those to mp3.

  3. #1203
    Packfodding 3 caloso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    My Bikes
    Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper
    Posts
    29,033
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I know they'll sound like crap. Even the originals sound like crap because they are taped off the radio in the 80s. But it's a sentimental thing for my wife.
    Cyclists of the world, unite! You have nothing to lube but your chains!

  4. #1204
    fuggitivo solitario echappist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Posts
    7,654
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    something just went kaputs with my windows 7 & i'm now running ubuntu, so i know it's a software, not hardware issue

    to recap: no network adapter showing (not ethernet, not wireless, zilch) in control panel
    can't change screen brightness.
    windows aero is gone
    system restore doesn't work

    seems like something got deleted. what can i do to restore things?

  5. #1205
    Senior Member shovelhd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Western MA
    My Bikes
    Yes
    Posts
    10,477
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by echappist View Post
    something just went kaputs with my windows 7 & i'm now running ubuntu, so i know it's a software, not hardware issue

    to recap: no network adapter showing (not ethernet, not wireless, zilch) in control panel
    can't change screen brightness.
    windows aero is gone
    system restore doesn't work

    seems like something got deleted. what can i do to restore things?
    There's a virus that does what you describe. Rebuild and restore was a lot easier than recovery.

  6. #1206
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    6,993
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by echappist View Post
    something just went kaputs with my windows 7 & i'm now running ubuntu, so i know it's a software, not hardware issue

    to recap: no network adapter showing (not ethernet, not wireless, zilch) in control panel
    can't change screen brightness.
    windows aero is gone
    system restore doesn't work

    seems like something got deleted. what can i do to restore things?
    tee hee
    ...

  7. #1207
    Senior Member chiefDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Central Texas
    My Bikes
    11 cervelo R3, 12 s-works venge, 13 Santa Cruz tall boy
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I started looking at this thread and bam: shockwave flash has crashed, using chrome lol

    Might try windows repair feature, from the dvd, worth a try. Or maybe restart F8, safe mode, and then clean boot. IMHO 7 is one of my favorite builds and very hard to break, hell, almost as stable and quick as XP, but that was in my hard core, overclocking days, and voiding warrenties. lol GL

  8. #1208
    Genetics have failed me Scummer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Zorneding, Germany
    My Bikes
    Pedalforce CX1 & Trek Madone 5.9
    Posts
    2,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My upcoming weekend project:
    http://www.eevblog.com/forum/project...550/#msg207550

    And then virtualizing the GPU with ESXi5.1 to enable hardware rendering for Vmware View.

    Really curious about gaming performance using zero clients and PCoIP.
    Gelato aficionado.

  9. #1209
    Gluteus Enormus mmmdonuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    My Bikes
    Yes
    Posts
    2,225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by echappist View Post
    something just went kaputs with my windows 7 & i'm now running ubuntu, so i know it's a software, not hardware issue

    to recap: no network adapter showing (not ethernet, not wireless, zilch) in control panel
    can't change screen brightness.
    windows aero is gone
    system restore doesn't work

    seems like something got deleted. what can i do to restore things?
    Quote Originally Posted by shovelhd View Post
    There's a virus that does what you describe. Rebuild and restore was a lot easier than recovery.
    Have you checked the device manager? Remove the faulting devices from the tree and allow Windows to reinstall them.

    If you haven't already, try a stand-alone Windows Defender Offline scan booting from a USB flash drive. Works quite well on viruses that are hard to detect and remove.
    Everybody's got plans... until they get hit.
    - Mike Tyson

  10. #1210
    ride lots be safe Creakyknees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,964
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been using these on the bike. They work, I like them. But it seems the bluetooth is hyper-sensitive to my body blocking the line of sight from my jersey pocket to my neck. Causes occasional cut-outs. The Amazon reviews said it's because each phone is unique in bluetooth antenna placement, power etc...?

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    "have fun and be kind"
    - an internet post

  11. #1211
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,590
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Chrome makes some pretty sweet technology available to mainstream developers. Just think of the possibilities here.


  12. #1212
    No matches Flatballer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    My Bikes
    two wheeled ones
    Posts
    10,182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What are you guy's thoughts on internal phishing attempts to "educate" employees about phishing? Our company has done two in the last few months. And yeah, you can get people to click on them, and prove that phishing works, and you can "educate" them, but it feels wrong to me and some other folks here.

    They even outsourced it this time (not sure about last time) to phishme.com. If you follow the e-mail header it's right there, not exactly sophisticated. Seems like something that a company with our resources and technical skills would be able to do in house, and do better. I wonder how much money they wasted on this "attack".
    It's a bike race, not a tea party. - GirlAnachronism

  13. #1213
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,590
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sucks to make your employees feel stupid, but the education could be valuable. Probably money better spent than the stupid "security" CRC modules floating around in the corporate HR-in-a-box media we have to endure.

  14. #1214
    Senior Member Homebrew01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ffld Cnty Connecticut
    My Bikes
    Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
    Posts
    14,419
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Is there such a thing as a GUI to use when accessing a Linux box. Something for a Linux "Dummy" to use to poke around ? We have a couple Linux boxes running MySQL, and I can access MySQL with some tools, but want to look at what else is running on the machine. There is supposed to be MySQL replication running to another box, and I also want to look at how the MySQL backups are scheduled. Currently, I know ZERO about Linux. We have 1 person here who has some command line only experience.
    Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike

  15. #1215
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,590
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What flavor (distribution/distro) of Linux?

  16. #1216
    Senior Member Homebrew01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ffld Cnty Connecticut
    My Bikes
    Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
    Posts
    14,419
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by waterrockets View Post
    What flavor (distribution/distro) of Linux?
    V5.1 Enterprise, according to a document I found
    Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike

  17. #1217
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,590
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, that sounds like Red Hat Enterprise Linux. If you can get on the machine, it should be set up with a windows-sort-of-looking interface.

    It's likely that the window manager being used is Gnome, in which case, there's a Gnome System Monitor that works a lot like the windows Task Manager. If the window manager is KDE (optional in RHEL), then there's a tool called KDE System Guard that should work for you.

    If not working windowed, here's a command-line summary to get you started with text-based stuff: http://www.comptechdoc.org/os/linux/...processes.html

  18. #1218
    **** that mattm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    CALI
    Posts
    10,412
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It also might be running an Xwindows server, in which case you can connect to the GUI remotely. This may help.

    The MySQL server may have a web interface too, something worth looking in to.

    Been a while since I've used linux.. not since slackware on floppy disks lol.
    Cat 1 o-meter: 24/35 points

    Race Ready app | Race Results app | Steephill.ios app

    blog

  19. #1219
    Senior Member Homebrew01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ffld Cnty Connecticut
    My Bikes
    Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
    Posts
    14,419
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by waterrockets View Post
    Ah, that sounds like Red Hat Enterprise Linux. If you can get on the machine, it should be set up with a windows-sort-of-looking interface.
    I currently use WinSCP (v 4.1.9) to connect to the server. I can navigate "folders" but not sure if there is much more I can do a lot with that.
    Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike

  20. #1220
    Senior Member Homebrew01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ffld Cnty Connecticut
    My Bikes
    Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
    Posts
    14,419
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Someone here recommended WampServer. What i mainly want to do is look into MySQL replication between 2 servers, and manage MySQL backup files.
    Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike

  21. #1221
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,590
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not familiar with MySQL setup/management, and can't really help further than googling what you're probably already googling. You might check out a bash shell tutorial or guide and see if it sparks any command-line inspiration for a solution -- you can do a lot from there.

    Maybe start here? http://www.tldp.org/LDP/Bash-Beginners-Guide/html/

  22. #1222
    Senior Member shovelhd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Western MA
    My Bikes
    Yes
    Posts
    10,477
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it is RHEL, then 5.1 would be pretty old. To install XWindows, yum groupinstall gnome. There are other XWindows managers, but Gnome is the default.

    You may be running some Linux distro on VMware. 5.1 Enterprise would be the current version. You can manager SQL server replication at the hypervisor level but you better know what you're doing.

    To find out what version of Linux you are running

    cd /etc
    ls -l | grep release
    cat the file found by grep, i.e. cat /etc/redhat-release

  23. #1223
    Making a kilometer blurry waterrockets's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin (near TX)
    My Bikes
    rkwaki's porn collection
    Posts
    25,590
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Software requirements importance example: I'm working on the multi-function display for a certain aircraft. I need the pilot or wrench to enter the date and time. I don't have minimum date requirements. So, I decided to allow entry as far back as 1/1/1970 (using a time_t). I figure that I don't want to be the one who gets in trouble when DARPA tries to send this thing back in time and can't because the nav system only allows post 2012 dates.

    <note that I really have no option to get requirements from the prime contractor -- it's been pretty insane but true. Am I surprised about the healthcare web site problems?... nope>
    Last edited by waterrockets; 11-26-13 at 09:02 AM.

  24. #1224
    Powered by Borscht ovoleg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    SoCal
    My Bikes
    Russian Vodka
    Posts
    8,161
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been reading lots of programming textbooks over the past month and I actually really like the stuff I can do. I first started programming when I was 8 with COBOL. Not a programmer by trade but always been pretty decent.

    I nerded out doing typing tests with a coworker on typingtest.com. I'm pretty sure this thing is rigged cause I can't go above 122 WPM. I've tested around 140 on some tests but this one seems to cap out around 122...wtf.
    -Cat-3-o-meter: 8/20

  25. #1225
    Elite Fred mollusk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Edge City
    My Bikes
    2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son
    Posts
    10,535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I finally gave in and ordered a replacement "brain" for our Bosch dishwasher.

    Over a year ago it stopped completing cycles. It would start and run for about 45 seconds and then throw an "E:24" error which Bosch says has something to do with either a clogged or improperly installed drain line.

    The drain line is properly installed and is not clogged, but with the help of my trusty multimeter I figured out what the problem was. On starting the dishwasher first drains a bit, gets some new water, drains again, gets more new water, drains a third time, and calls for more fresh water. It turns out that the controller no longer sent a signal to the valve controlling the flow of fresh water on the third call and so none was sent. And since there was no water to drain, no water was drained the next time it was supposed to do that. And the controller sensed that and shut down thinking that the drain was clogged.

    To get around this broken logic in the controller I would carefully listen to the sequencing of events and open the dishwasher door within a 1/4 second time frame and add water manually. Now there was water to drain and I fooled the faulty controller. Seeing that the timing is very tight (and varies in total time because of variations in the amount of water in the system when you start the process) it sometimes it takes a couple of attempts to get it to work.

    My wife is now tired of this game we play and wants to just push a button and walk away.

    I can see her point, but I am the one that usually does the dishes.

    But it was really fun to figure out the problem and also devise a kludge around it.
    I'm the world's forgotten boy. The one who's searchin', searchin' to destroy.

Page 49 of 52 FirstFirst ... 394748495051 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •