Cycling and bicycle discussion forums. 
   Click here to join our community Log in to access your Control Panel  


Go Back   > >

"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-13, 03:58 PM   #1201
caloso
Packfodding 3
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Bikes: Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper
Posts: 34,105
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Has anyone converted cassette tapes to mp3? If so, any thoughts about the best way to go about doing this?
caloso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-13, 12:24 PM   #1202
Enthalpic
Killing Rabbits
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Bikes:
Posts: 5,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Old tapes will sound like crap. If you really badly wanted them the only way I can think of doing it is to connect the earphone out with microphone in then record a series of .wav files then convert those to mp3.
Enthalpic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-13, 01:19 PM   #1203
caloso
Packfodding 3
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Bikes: Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper
Posts: 34,105
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Yeah, I know they'll sound like crap. Even the originals sound like crap because they are taped off the radio in the 80s. But it's a sentimental thing for my wife.
caloso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-13, 09:18 AM   #1204
echappist 
fuggitivo solitario
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Bikes:
Posts: 8,822
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
something just went kaputs with my windows 7 & i'm now running ubuntu, so i know it's a software, not hardware issue

to recap: no network adapter showing (not ethernet, not wireless, zilch) in control panel
can't change screen brightness.
windows aero is gone
system restore doesn't work

seems like something got deleted. what can i do to restore things?
echappist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-13, 09:34 AM   #1205
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Bikes: Yes
Posts: 15,598
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by echappist View Post
something just went kaputs with my windows 7 & i'm now running ubuntu, so i know it's a software, not hardware issue

to recap: no network adapter showing (not ethernet, not wireless, zilch) in control panel
can't change screen brightness.
windows aero is gone
system restore doesn't work

seems like something got deleted. what can i do to restore things?
There's a virus that does what you describe. Rebuild and restore was a lot easier than recovery.
shovelhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-13, 10:15 AM   #1206
valygrl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boulder, CO
Bikes:
Posts: 8,366
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by echappist View Post
something just went kaputs with my windows 7 & i'm now running ubuntu, so i know it's a software, not hardware issue

to recap: no network adapter showing (not ethernet, not wireless, zilch) in control panel
can't change screen brightness.
windows aero is gone
system restore doesn't work

seems like something got deleted. what can i do to restore things?
tee hee
valygrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-13, 10:18 AM   #1207
chiefDave
Senior Member
 
chiefDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Central Texas
Bikes: 11 cervelo R3, 12 s-works venge, 13 Santa Cruz tall boy
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I started looking at this thread and bam: shockwave flash has crashed, using chrome lol

Might try windows repair feature, from the dvd, worth a try. Or maybe restart F8, safe mode, and then clean boot. IMHO 7 is one of my favorite builds and very hard to break, hell, almost as stable and quick as XP, but that was in my hard core, overclocking days, and voiding warrenties. lol GL
chiefDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-13, 10:30 AM   #1208
Scummer
Genetics have failed me
 
Scummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Zorneding, Germany
Bikes: Norwid Aaland, Radon Slide 140, Dahon mju, Pedalforce CX1, Trek Madone 5.9, Old MTB and lots of spare parts
Posts: 3,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
My upcoming weekend project:
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/project...550/#msg207550

And then virtualizing the GPU with ESXi5.1 to enable hardware rendering for Vmware View.

Really curious about gaming performance using zero clients and PCoIP.
__________________
Gelato aficionado.
Scummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-13, 10:26 AM   #1209
mmmdonuts
Gluteus Enormus
 
mmmdonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Bikes: Yes
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by echappist View Post
something just went kaputs with my windows 7 & i'm now running ubuntu, so i know it's a software, not hardware issue

to recap: no network adapter showing (not ethernet, not wireless, zilch) in control panel
can't change screen brightness.
windows aero is gone
system restore doesn't work

seems like something got deleted. what can i do to restore things?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shovelhd View Post
There's a virus that does what you describe. Rebuild and restore was a lot easier than recovery.
Have you checked the device manager? Remove the faulting devices from the tree and allow Windows to reinstall them.

If you haven't already, try a stand-alone Windows Defender Offline scan booting from a USB flash drive. Works quite well on viruses that are hard to detect and remove.
mmmdonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-13, 12:33 PM   #1210
Creakyknees
ride lots be safe
 
Creakyknees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Bikes:
Posts: 5,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I've been using these on the bike. They work, I like them. But it seems the bluetooth is hyper-sensitive to my body blocking the line of sight from my jersey pocket to my neck. Causes occasional cut-outs. The Amazon reviews said it's because each phone is unique in bluetooth antenna placement, power etc...?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Creakyknees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-13, 09:13 AM   #1211
waterrockets 
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection
Posts: 26,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Chrome makes some pretty sweet technology available to mainstream developers. Just think of the possibilities here.

waterrockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-13, 07:53 AM   #1212
Flatballer
No matches
 
Flatballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Eastern PA
Bikes: two wheeled ones
Posts: 10,696
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
What are you guy's thoughts on internal phishing attempts to "educate" employees about phishing? Our company has done two in the last few months. And yeah, you can get people to click on them, and prove that phishing works, and you can "educate" them, but it feels wrong to me and some other folks here.

They even outsourced it this time (not sure about last time) to phishme.com. If you follow the e-mail header it's right there, not exactly sophisticated. Seems like something that a company with our resources and technical skills would be able to do in house, and do better. I wonder how much money they wasted on this "attack".
Flatballer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-13, 08:05 AM   #1213
waterrockets 
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection
Posts: 26,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Sucks to make your employees feel stupid, but the education could be valuable. Probably money better spent than the stupid "security" CRC modules floating around in the corporate HR-in-a-box media we have to endure.
waterrockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 09:07 AM   #1214
Homebrew01
Super Moderator
 
Homebrew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ffld Cnty Connecticut
Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
Posts: 20,030
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Is there such a thing as a GUI to use when accessing a Linux box. Something for a Linux "Dummy" to use to poke around ? We have a couple Linux boxes running MySQL, and I can access MySQL with some tools, but want to look at what else is running on the machine. There is supposed to be MySQL replication running to another box, and I also want to look at how the MySQL backups are scheduled. Currently, I know ZERO about Linux. We have 1 person here who has some command line only experience.
__________________
Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike
Homebrew01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 10:06 AM   #1215
waterrockets 
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection
Posts: 26,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
What flavor (distribution/distro) of Linux?
waterrockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 11:16 AM   #1216
Homebrew01
Super Moderator
 
Homebrew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ffld Cnty Connecticut
Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
Posts: 20,030
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterrockets View Post
What flavor (distribution/distro) of Linux?
V5.1 Enterprise, according to a document I found
__________________
Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike
Homebrew01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 11:59 AM   #1217
waterrockets 
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection
Posts: 26,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Ah, that sounds like Red Hat Enterprise Linux. If you can get on the machine, it should be set up with a windows-sort-of-looking interface.

It's likely that the window manager being used is Gnome, in which case, there's a Gnome System Monitor that works a lot like the windows Task Manager. If the window manager is KDE (optional in RHEL), then there's a tool called KDE System Guard that should work for you.

If not working windowed, here's a command-line summary to get you started with text-based stuff: http://www.comptechdoc.org/os/linux/...processes.html
waterrockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 12:05 PM   #1218
mattm
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Bikes:
Posts: 13,889
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
It also might be running an Xwindows server, in which case you can connect to the GUI remotely. This may help.

The MySQL server may have a web interface too, something worth looking in to.

Been a while since I've used linux.. not since slackware on floppy disks lol.
__________________
cat 1.

blog
mattm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 12:17 PM   #1219
Homebrew01
Super Moderator
 
Homebrew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ffld Cnty Connecticut
Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
Posts: 20,030
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterrockets View Post
Ah, that sounds like Red Hat Enterprise Linux. If you can get on the machine, it should be set up with a windows-sort-of-looking interface.
I currently use WinSCP (v 4.1.9) to connect to the server. I can navigate "folders" but not sure if there is much more I can do a lot with that.
__________________
Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike
Homebrew01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 12:52 PM   #1220
Homebrew01
Super Moderator
 
Homebrew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ffld Cnty Connecticut
Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales
Posts: 20,030
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Someone here recommended WampServer. What i mainly want to do is look into MySQL replication between 2 servers, and manage MySQL backup files.
__________________
Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike
Homebrew01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 03:24 PM   #1221
waterrockets 
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection
Posts: 26,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I'm not familiar with MySQL setup/management, and can't really help further than googling what you're probably already googling. You might check out a bash shell tutorial or guide and see if it sparks any command-line inspiration for a solution -- you can do a lot from there.

Maybe start here? http://www.tldp.org/LDP/Bash-Beginners-Guide/html/
waterrockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-13, 05:39 PM   #1222
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Bikes: Yes
Posts: 15,598
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
If it is RHEL, then 5.1 would be pretty old. To install XWindows, yum groupinstall gnome. There are other XWindows managers, but Gnome is the default.

You may be running some Linux distro on VMware. 5.1 Enterprise would be the current version. You can manager SQL server replication at the hypervisor level but you better know what you're doing.

To find out what version of Linux you are running

cd /etc
ls -l | grep release
cat the file found by grep, i.e. cat /etc/redhat-release
shovelhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-13, 09:59 AM   #1223
waterrockets 
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection
Posts: 26,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Software requirements importance example: I'm working on the multi-function display for a certain aircraft. I need the pilot or wrench to enter the date and time. I don't have minimum date requirements. So, I decided to allow entry as far back as 1/1/1970 (using a time_t). I figure that I don't want to be the one who gets in trouble when DARPA tries to send this thing back in time and can't because the nav system only allows post 2012 dates.

<note that I really have no option to get requirements from the prime contractor -- it's been pretty insane but true. Am I surprised about the healthcare web site problems?... nope>

Last edited by waterrockets; 11-26-13 at 10:02 AM.
waterrockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-13, 10:57 AM   #1224
ovoleg
Powered by Borscht
 
ovoleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal
Bikes: Russian Vodka
Posts: 8,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been reading lots of programming textbooks over the past month and I actually really like the stuff I can do. I first started programming when I was 8 with COBOL. Not a programmer by trade but always been pretty decent.

I nerded out doing typing tests with a coworker on typingtest.com. I'm pretty sure this thing is rigged cause I can't go above 122 WPM. I've tested around 140 on some tests but this one seems to cap out around 122...wtf.
ovoleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-13, 04:50 PM   #1225
mollusk
Elite Fred
Thread Starter
 
mollusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edge City
Bikes: 2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son
Posts: 10,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
I finally gave in and ordered a replacement "brain" for our Bosch dishwasher.

Over a year ago it stopped completing cycles. It would start and run for about 45 seconds and then throw an "E:24" error which Bosch says has something to do with either a clogged or improperly installed drain line.

The drain line is properly installed and is not clogged, but with the help of my trusty multimeter I figured out what the problem was. On starting the dishwasher first drains a bit, gets some new water, drains again, gets more new water, drains a third time, and calls for more fresh water. It turns out that the controller no longer sent a signal to the valve controlling the flow of fresh water on the third call and so none was sent. And since there was no water to drain, no water was drained the next time it was supposed to do that. And the controller sensed that and shut down thinking that the drain was clogged.

To get around this broken logic in the controller I would carefully listen to the sequencing of events and open the dishwasher door within a 1/4 second time frame and add water manually. Now there was water to drain and I fooled the faulty controller. Seeing that the timing is very tight (and varies in total time because of variations in the amount of water in the system when you start the process) it sometimes it takes a couple of attempts to get it to work.

My wife is now tired of this game we play and wants to just push a button and walk away.

I can see her point, but I am the one that usually does the dishes.

But it was really fun to figure out the problem and also devise a kludge around it.
mollusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 AM.