Does placing in a masters race earn points towards category upgrades? I am a 42 yo cat 4 signed up for a masters (40+) cat 1-4 race, in an event that also offers a separate, non-age-restricted cat 4 race. For upgrade point purposes, does it matter which one I enter?
Additionally, if an older masters group (50+) is combined in the same race as the 40+ group, do only the participants in the younger group count when tallying the number of participants to determine the eligible points?
I did not find an obvious answer in the USA Cycling rules, but maybe I just missed it.