Cycling and bicycle discussion forums. 
   Click here to join our community Log in to access your Control Panel  


Go Back   > >

"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-05, 07:12 PM   #1
TCR
Riding Heavens Highway
Thread Starter
 
TCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sunny SoCal
Bikes: '04 Giant TCR
Posts: 1,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is it legal to have somebody hand you a water bottle during the race?

USCF sanctioned, CAT V, 5 loops of 7 miles with a slightly nasty .9 mile hill in the middle. I was thinking on the last couple laps when I'm about to explode it would be easier to climb if I drop the water bottle before the hill, climb a couple pounds lighter, and then have a friend hand me a new bottle at the top. At this point the field will most likely be spread out and easy to do the hand off. Is this legal or not? There is no feeding zone within the CAT V race and it wouldn't be within the designated zone anyway.
__________________
http://vvbc.us
TCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-05, 08:31 PM   #2
jbhowat
@ Checkmate Cycling
 
jbhowat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Bikes: CAAD 8 - Ultegra
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I don't think so.... But if you happen to find a water bottle sitting at the top of the hill you might get away with picking it up. The question is, could you pick up a water bottle while rolling along at race speed. Chances are the couple pounds makes no difference in compared to the hassle of getting a bottle every lap.
jbhowat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-05, 08:33 PM   #3
Trsnrtr
Nefarious Reprobate
 
Trsnrtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central Illinois
Bikes: Colnago CX, Giant Propel, Co-Motion Supremo
Posts: 8,358
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 832 Post(s)
Only if there is a specified feed zone. Otherwise, no.
__________________
Dennis T
Trsnrtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 09:26 AM   #4
EventServices
Announcer
 
EventServices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Detroit's North Side.
Bikes: Many
Posts: 5,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Definitely no.

If there's no designated feed zone, hand-ups are not allowed.

You may think you're helping your cause by dumping the extra weight, but you aren't. And if you cause a crash, the referees will be the least of your concerns. The other riders will likely hang you from the finish line banner.
EventServices is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 09:52 AM   #5
Laggard
Lance Hater
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Bikes:
Posts: 4,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Is this a USCF rule?

The reason I ask is that in Europe riders take lots of drinks from spectators. So it must not be a UCI rule.
Laggard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 10:44 AM   #6
squeegy200
Senior Member
 
squeegy200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern California
Bikes: Colnago Altain, Klein Pulse II, Stumpjumper FSR, GT Zaskar LE, Pedalforce RS2
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laggard
Is this a USCF rule?

The reason I ask is that in Europe riders take lots of drinks from spectators. So it must not be a UCI rule.
Many a professional has suffered stomach ailments during a race by accepting foodstuffs from well meaning spectators. Frankie Andreau once mentioned that if it wasn't a commercially prepared product in a sealed container, he would only accept water to wash over his head.
squeegy200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 10:47 AM   #7
Laggard
Lance Hater
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Bikes:
Posts: 4,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeegy200
Many a professional has suffered stomach ailments during a race by accepting foodstuffs from well meaning spectators. Frankie Andreau once mentioned that if it wasn't a commercially prepared product in a sealed container, he would only accept water to wash over his head.
Yes I know. I've never seen a rider punished for it though.
Laggard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 10:48 AM   #8
don d.
Guest
 
Bikes:
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeegy200
Many a professional has suffered stomach ailments during a race by accepting foodstuffs from well meaning spectators. Frankie Andreau once mentioned that if it wasn't a commercially prepared product in a sealed container, he would only accept water to wash over his head.
...until he is out of water, dehydrated, and struggling to stay in the bus on the Galibier and his team car is the last one in the procession.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 12:02 PM   #9
sundaythedog
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Bikes:
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You're racing Cat5. Losing a pound before a climb is not going to make or break the race for you.
sundaythedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 12:06 PM   #10
EventServices
Announcer
 
EventServices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Detroit's North Side.
Bikes: Many
Posts: 5,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
It's a USCF rule.

Also, if you're a Cat 5, I would refrain from registering for a pro race in Europe.

But if you insist, then I would urge you to carry your own water up Galibier.
EventServices is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 05:31 PM   #11
cyclingute
The cycling student.
 
cyclingute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Bikes: Orbea XLR8R, C-dale Caad4 Aero TT.
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trsnrtr
Only if there is a specified feed zone. Otherwise, no.

This is correct. BTW it's only 35 miles. Take a couple of bottles with you. You should finish this race in 2hrs or less.
cyclingute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 05:24 PM   #12
ed073
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Melbourne
Bikes: Scapin EOS7 sloping, 10v Record, Ksyriums
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EventServices
It's a USCF rule.

Also, if you're a Cat 5, I would refrain from registering for a pro race in Europe.

But if you insist, then I would urge you to carry your own water up Galibier.

Hah!!! A nice laugh on Monday morning.

good one.
ed073 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-05, 01:19 PM   #13
doctorSpoc
Senior Member
 
doctorSpoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Bikes:
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I would imagine the the USCF (know that the OCA does) follows the UCI guidelines that says, no feeding in races shorter than 50km (31miles)... and only in designated feeding zones.
doctorSpoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 AM.