View Single Post
Old 01-07-07, 03:38 PM
Michel Gagnon
Year-round cyclist

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
A warning first: I'm an engineer, with some work and studies in Ergonomics, but I'm not a physician. I am also a bicycle tourist, often with two children. And I don't have direct experience with single-handed cycling.

I don't see any problem in using a bike with road bars if that's what your son wants. In fact, as a long-time cyclotourist and user of drop bars, I would prefer to ride single-handed on a bike with drop bars rather than on a bike with straight bars. I think part of the solution is to raise the bars so that he doesn't lean too much.

My first question is: does he uses and puts weight on his right arm? If that's the case, I would look either for:
– some kind of receiver for his arm: a sort of prosthetic end into which he would put his arm, or
– an aero bar towards the right side, so he could lean his right arm and elbow on it. I think it's possible to modify an aerobar to support his arm in a higher position, but I'm not an expert on this issue. Ideally, he should be able to use the drops with both shoulders at the same level.

If he is able to control the bike effectively with both arms/hands and keep it in control with his right hand, it opens a lot of possibilities for shifting and gearing.

Stem and handlebars

I would favour relatively high handlebars. Look for an uncut fork, fork extender (heads-up stem) and/or a stem with lots of raise. That way, he won't have too much weight on the arms. It will always be possible – and cheap – to lower the handlebars if/when he wants it.

Brakes

With cantis or road brakes, you could fairly easily install two brake levers on the same side.
For a while, I equipped my tandem with a drum brake (+ 2 rim brakes), so I needed a way to operate three brakes. So I installed two brake levers on the left handlebar.