View Single Post
Old 02-07-08, 08:20 PM
Six jours

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 13 Posts
You have made me reconsider the Co-Motion which was near the top of my list.
Bicycle Quarterly tested the "Nor'Wester Co-Pilot" and found that it weighed 28.8 pounds without lights and bags, that the heavy oversize tubing was overly stiff, and that it was difficult to ride in a straight line when the rider was tired. I have no personal experience with the bike, but this is a less-than-glowing review from what I consider a reliable source.

I agree about the fenders being a PITA and will be taking them on and off as the seasons change.
This is the one area where plastic fenders may outperform metal. Properly installed aluminum or stainless fenders are semi-permanent, although I'll bet Bmike will disagree!

Regarding gearing, the range I am baselining to (48/36/26 and 11/32) is about the same as my Roubaix on the high end and is about 0.6 times on the low end. I originally planned a 44/32/24 but really feel this is too low (might regret this some day). I live in the N. California coastal mountains and there are lots of 5 mile runs at -1 to -2% (going with the prevailing wind) where one can easily maintain 30 mph so I think the gearing is not too high but high would be first to go if I have to compromise.