Location: Catching his breath alongside a road near Seattle, WA USA

Bikes: 1999 K2 OzM, 2001 Aegis Aro Svelte

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by CommuterKat
So, the moral of the story is....

Never trust map directions to get two people from point A and point B to meet up at point C if they are communication over the phone and only one of them has the map in front of them.
I am a field engineer (amongst wearing other hats) for a software company and I rarely get a chance to ride when I go to customer sites. Last week, I had a chance to drive down to Hillsboro, OR instead of driving. I knew one of the customers was a cyclist too so I decided to bring my bike with me and we arranged to ride together after work. Well, things ran long that day and it's started getting dark early. By the time we started the ride, the sun was already beginning to set. I did remember my lights though. Anyways, he decided that we would take a route that would bring him close by his house (he commuted in that day) and would peel off halfway through leaving me to finish the loop back to their offices where I would load back up and then head for the hotel.

From the outset things were bad. I had to quickly change in their restroom and was in such a rush that I put my shorts on backwards so after walking halfway back to the parking lot, I had to return to the restroom to remedy that situation. Then I hurriedly prepped my bike by mounting my lights which I don't normally have in place. I guess I wasn't careful enough because as we pedalled out of the parking lot, I heard a clank and looked back to see one of my blinkies bouncing along the pavement. I stopped to retrieve it.