Old 10-17-04, 03:55 PM
sparks_219 

Bikes: Rocky Mountain Instinct, Cannondale Six13, Cervelo One

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My personal review of my Rocky Mountain Instinct

I purchased this bike yesterday and brought it out for a quick 2 hour ride today because I am still quite busy with tests and assignments :'( The weather was very chilly with strong wind, and it started raining halfway through the ride, but that did not hamper my spirit any bit.

First of all, this bike was not setup properly from the bike store at all, I swapped my Times pedals over, tightened the cable on my rear derailurer, and adjusted the brakes to the way I liked them. This is my first bike with suspension, and due to the fact I do not have my shock pump yet, I did not play with the suspension settings at all.

I am very new to writing these reviews, but I will try my best and break it into sections:

Shifting
We started the ride today with some long, and steep climbs. The shifting of the bike was very precise, however, the 9-speed derailure is difficult to setup properly, and my chain was skipping a little while climbing. From the short time I had in the saddle, I can see the shifting will be very very nice once everything has been broken in properly. It is definitely a step up from my STX setup on my old bike.

Handling
I have trouble finding words to describe the handling characteristics of this bike. The best I can come up with is agile, light, and extremely responsive.Across the singletrack, this bike turns on a dime, and does exactly what I want it to do. Once I have more saddle time, I can see myself being much faster over the tight and technical sections.

Pedal Bobbing and Climbing