Old 06-11-08, 11:45 AM
folder fanatic
Banned.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by gilda
hello. i'm new to this crazy new york city (well, relatively). i've recently moved and gotten a great new internship, and i want to get a bike to get to work and also to school.

i don't need some hardcore bicycle, just one that will take me on mostly short distances. i think my longest possible distance that i might travel would be from union square to times square.

i would like a folding bicycle that has at least 3 different speed options (because i'm not the fittest of people).

my biggest worry is size, weight and price.
+ i have one of those super puny city apartments, which is why i'm looking for a folding bicycle, and hopefully one that will fold up to fit in my pocket. or a small nook.
+ weight, because my school bag is usually really heavy and i am not the strongest of people to carry a heavy bike at the same time.
+ price-wise, as a student, i don't have a lot to spare. but if this might save me on all that metro cards each month, i guess it will be an investment.

i haven't owned a bike in years and really never serviced one before. all i know how to do is to pump air in tires so i really can't deal with anything that's very complicated. i read through some of the threads in this forum but honestly got so confused, which is why i thought i'd post a thread of my own and hopefully someone will be nice enough to offer some advice?

i saw a bike called mobiky that was really expensive (to me) but it seems to fold really small and i'm wondering if i should starve myself for a couple of months to buy it. does anyone know if this might be a good option for me? or if someone could suggest some similar options, i would really appreciate it.

thank you!!

Originally Posted by gilda
thanks guys!! i think i have decided on the dahon. i'm growing to like it