Old 12-15-04, 09:14 AM
Stumpyman

Bikes: 2004 Stumpjumper FSR Comp, Older fuji road bike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So what will a 50 mile day of riding take?

Hellow everyone.

I'm a newbie here, so let me explain what condition I'm in.

I started riding off-road about 4 years ago on a $300 full suspension bike that I got from Costco before I went to college. I took it out on a local trail where it was pretty flat, and learned how quickly I could steer the bike, how to handle bumps, etc. It was extremely heavy though, and I started to break different parts on it with the riding I was doing.

Last year, I bought a 2003 Giant Rainier that was too small. I'm around 6'1" and the bike was 17" with a huge stem and long seatpost. I never really had a bike that fit me so I was ignorant about what size to get, and also ignorant about components/suspension. I rode on the San Felasco trail here several times, learned quite a bit, and went to one race. I actually learned a lot more doing urban style riding, how to take bigger drops, how to position yourself when going down stairs, how to take jumps, etc. and I also had to learn how to bunny hop on the Rainier since I never figured it out when I was younger.

Anyway, my Rainier was stolen while it was locked up and I was in class, and since then I had been missing the trail a whole lot. I started thinking about what I really did not like about the Rainier. It was too small. I hated the Axel fork, I bottomed it out all the time and could do so simply by standing next to the bike and pressing down on the handlebars (I weigh about 170-175). I also didn't like the huge flexy stem. I realized that although I learned a lot from it, urban riding isn't my thing but XC is. I like the fluidity of it. I don't like riding in a small area and hitting the same spot over and over. I like movement and continuity.