Old 04-21-09, 07:25 AM
canflyboy

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jamis Sonik versus Blue TR250 - a newbies comparison observation

After being introduced to track cycling this past winter at the tight, indoor Forest City Velodrome, I went looking for a track bike for myself and had a chance to test ride a Blue TR250 and a Jamis Sonik on the track last night. I have to preface this report by letting you know that I'm a relative newbie on a track, but even I came up with noticeable differences between the two.

First the bikes
http://www.rideblue.com/tr250.php
http://www.jamisbikes.com/canada/the.../09_sonik.html

Both bikes are similar in that they have an aluminum frame, carbon fork, aero tubing, pista bars and American Classic 420 wheelset. Geometry is strickly track with the Jamis being more aggressive. This comes from a 30mm rake on the Jamis versus 38mm on the Blue and the Jamis wheelbase is 39mm shorter, over 1.5 inches. Jamis comes with a carbon crank. In my size the Jamis was about 14 pounds and the Blue was 15 pounds. This could come from the crank and smaller tires. The Jamis comes with 20 versus 23mm tires. The frame finish on the Blue was much nicer than on the Jamis. The Blue is double welded. I'm not sure if this made the joints on the Blue look smoother, but the Blue actually looks like a carbon frame. The Jamis welds are noticeable,but functional. BTW, one can add brakes to the Jamis if one wanted to use it as a fixie. That option is not available on the Blue.

The first thing I noticed that for me, the deep pista drops on both bikes didn't suit me and I replaced them with road bars. My preference - I'm new, a roadie and an oldie. Maybe in time I'll use the Pistas, but for my comparison - I stayed with the road bars.

RIDE CHARACTERISTICS