Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

student on a budget needs cheap bike

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-05, 10:39 PM
hvn

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

hi everyone,

i'm a med student on a tight budget. my car just died on me and i simply can't afford a new one. to get around town and school (5 mile commute radius to school/stores) what bike would you recommend? i really can't spend more than $350. should i just get one of those cheapie bikes from costco or target for $100 or actually invest in a more expensive bike? i'm hoping i'll take to this biking thing and won't need a car for a while. any advice is appreciated. thanks!
Old 05-20-05, 10:43 PM
JOCP Senior Advisor

Bikes: 1979 Shcwinn Varsity, 2005 Speciazlied Transition Multi-Sport, 2005 Specailized Sirrus

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You may want to check out Ebay, you can maybe snag something decent for cheap. Who knows your LBS may have a good sale goin on that you can get a decent bike for your price range.

Elvish
Old 05-20-05, 11:17 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check craigslist as well. Where are you located?
Old 05-21-05, 12:00 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DONT go the walmart route. You'll be sorry, those things are garbage, and usually assembled wrong to boot. Look on craigslist, ebay, local classifieds, garage sales, thrift stores etc. Get a used bike that fits you reasonably well. I paid $100 for my main commuter, and I'll admit that's not what I've got into it but the original purchase was good and it did everything I needed. Its changed alot, and then some, but it remains the best bike I have.
Old 05-21-05, 04:19 AM

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts