Touring - e-bay: is this legit?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : e-bay: is this legit?


deadlytreddly
01-08-06, 05:34 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Surly-Cross-Check-Hot-Set-up-New-No-Reserve_W0QQitemZ4431761734QQcategoryZ1280QQssPageNameZWD2VQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I thought I saw these photos of this build up in this forum recently. I can't imagine the builder would be selling for this price so soon.

The seller has a heap of bikes all listed from the same day; all with different backgrounds- it looks a bit suspect. Does anybody recognise this bike from the forum also?


michaelnel
01-08-06, 05:40 PM
It's a scam. Report it. The seller has zero feedback, and is in China. He is advertizing it on the Oz EBay site but will only ship to the USA lower 48. To top it off, payment is via wire transfer.

roccobike
01-08-06, 05:42 PM
Well, you're dealing with someone who has Zero feedback. That means they have never purchased anything on ebay, but now they are selling. Of course, they could have bought or sold on ebay before, using a different identity, so why would they need another identity? Hmmm. Additionally, you will be purchasing outside of your native country, that limits your legal protection if its a scam. IMHO, I would pass this up if you have doubts. But that's just my opinion.


burbankbiker
01-08-06, 07:43 PM
The price isn't even good enough to want to think about taking the risk.

Western Union is the scammers method of choice... and so is this guys... the second best option for a scam is wire transfer... same here... and scammers HATE personal checks and paypal... which this guy doesn't accept. If he's not a scammer, he sure does a great impersonation of one.