Foo - Dork E-Bay Question.......

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Dork E-Bay Question.......


-=(8)=-
01-31-06, 04:29 AM
I dont know a whole lot about E-Bay but I bought an item of clothing the other day.
Everything looks OK, Seller is one of the 'Power Sellers' with 99.8 % feedback and
all that crap, The auction appears to be coming from Britain and I see that my PayPaL
fundage needs to be converted to £'s and that is what is going to be deducted....OK,
still no problem, the shipping is high but I still go through with it. After I confirm the deal
with the seller, I get an address from the shop and where to address all inquirys to to avoid
problems or a feedback war. The shop is in Pennsyslvania ! WTF !! 10 minutes from where
my brother lives :mad: I email to ask why overseas rates are being applied and have still
gotten no answer. Is this a typical E-Bay scam for getting more money for stuff ?
I was thinking about a nuetral feedback and saying that my question about why the wack
shipping charge stuff was never answered. Good idea to let other people know what is
going on or should I just soak it up and not risk my rating being goofed with by someone
who knows more about this stuff than I do ??
Im off to work now but I appreciate all answers in advance :D


Johnny_Monkey
01-31-06, 04:34 AM
It sounds like a scam. Have you tried phoning the shop in PA?

socalrider
01-31-06, 04:37 AM
what is the auction#, sounds fishy..


Stacey
01-31-06, 05:00 AM
Yeah, somethin' don't sound jake there.

Though, it could be this person lives in PA and is drop shipping from UK, maybe, kinda, do ya think? Is this a generic item or is it something exclusive to UK only?

-=(8)=-
01-31-06, 05:19 AM
Here is the store......http://stores.ebay.com/PSPS99129

No Fone # listed....
I called PayPal to see if I could at least hold the payment until I heard
from them by email and they obviously said "no".....
I think Ill be OK, They appear to be legit...I think ^^^ Stacy is right
(but who wouldnt know that ! :))I'll just have to say some lessons come at a
price ! :eek:

Thanks for help !

Stacey
01-31-06, 05:35 AM
Here is the store......http://stores.ebay.com/PSPS99129

No Fone # listed....
I called PayPal to see if I could at least hold the payment until I heard
from them by email and they obviously said "no".....
I think Ill be OK, They appear to be legit...I think ^^^ Stacy is right
(but who wouldnt know that ! :))I'll just have to say some lessons come at a
price ! :eek:

Thanks for help !


Wot u meen? Who wouldn't know what I said -- or -- Who wouldn't know that I'm right? :D

A quick look at one fo the sellers offerings shows that the seller appears to be based in the US of A, however his prices are in Pounds. Also most queer is is that on the item I looked at (a leather visor) shipping to the US and UK were the same 5 Pounds

BTW -- Poundem, there is an 'e' in my name that was omitted. ;)

msheron
01-31-06, 05:49 AM
I would almost think it is dropped shipped from the UK. Did you research what you bought to see where it is manufactured? In other words, alot of cycling gear can be from overseas. A dealer here may only call them to have it shipped to you from the UK when their store is in the US. My friend has a shirt business that does the same, except his shirts are US but he uses another business to drop ship and it seems as if he has all the stock which in effect, he has none.

catatonic
01-31-06, 05:55 AM
Yeah, some folks scam like that...but more oftne than not, it's just the item is being shipped from whatever region the currency is for.

The more common scam is dropping an outrageous shipping fee, like $70 on a pair of brake calipers for USPS slow boat.

cooker
01-31-06, 11:27 AM
It looks legitimate to me...presumbly the seller is American but has overseas partners or suppliers. I would be more suspicious if all the feedback was from the last two weeks and all the buyers had joined EBAY since Jan 1 06. When the item arrives, it will likely have come from Britain.

scarpi41
01-31-06, 01:45 PM
My shakespeare teacher buys sweater vests off ebay. Hes like the coolest guy ever(not for the vest, but the jokes he makes about the vests)lol

Travelinguyrt
01-31-06, 05:00 PM
To much stuff on E BAY is garbage, people along with stuff

Ebay is being sued by Tiffanys for allowing counterfeit jewelry to be sold after being told it was crap, E bays response. sorry we couldn't care about that we just list the crap. no diff than a yard sale or sidewalk sale in Manhattan
and Pay Pal is owned by Ebay, think you ae going to get any help there,dream on brother

E-Bay and Wal-Mary crap INC

cooker
01-31-06, 06:34 PM
to -=£em in Pa=-, I should add that a lot of the feedback refers to hats and clothes, even going back over a year, and comes from both sides of the Atlantic. I would say, this is likely an established international seller with a good track record, so if it was me I would pay promptly, then be patient and expect what may be a bit slow overseas delivery (EDIT) and maybe some import tax/duty.
RGC

-=(8)=-
01-31-06, 06:42 PM
^^^ Cooker...Thats what I did.
I paid. Ill be patient. The item I bought was made in the UK
instead of China so can I feel good about that ?? :D
I was scared to use e-bay for a long time because my first two
dealing with it were as a seller selling two very expensive motorcycles.
Both buyers backed out and one refused to sign the paperwork E-Bay
wants a backer-outer to sign so they kept hammering my credit card
for all different kinds of fees. It took two months of begging, yelling and
screaming to convince them that the bike was still in my shed and I shouldnt
owe a commission on it. I bought a fixie from an ebay sore and that went
real well. I dont have the cash to be on it (e-bay) too much though, thats why
I ask dumb questions :D