PDA

View Full Version : Does this 'homebrew' bike look any good?




geo8rge
06-24-06, 09:37 PM
This guy seems to be trying to sell his 'homebrew' folders.

http://newyork.craigslist.org/mnh/bik/174886721.html

dalmore
06-25-06, 06:37 AM
I saw a similar frame on Ebay recently being sold as a manufacturer's prototype if I recall correctly ... Looks like this homebrew is a 16-inch wheel and I was thinking the one on ebay had 20-inch wheels.

Edit - removed reference to a deleted post.

jasong
06-25-06, 11:16 PM
Wavshrdr needs to be a guinea pig.

juan162
06-26-06, 10:41 PM
geo8rge,
I think the bike is an asian bike based off of a 16" dahon, but single speed. While I think the guy does good work and the bike looks good (I've seen it posted on craigslist on several occasions), I personally think he is asking too much for a used, single speed bike. I contacted him about his bike friday just to let him know (for his benefit) that his original selling price was too high, especially since a new version of his bike friday was available for only $50 more than he was asking. He refused to believe me and told me that it was more like a bike friday that costs a little less than $1000. He must of went back on the Bike Friday site because a week or 2 later, it was back up, but $100 less. In my opinion, it was still a little overpriced by maybe $50 compared to comparable used bikes.
Juan

grayvw
07-20-06, 08:29 AM
Is this the guy who always asks you to read his entire post before e-mailing him a question?

I have seen him post in Boston CL, NYC CL, and Philadelphia CL, and he advertises his location as Chinatown for Boston and New York. He's also willing to barter for a laptop. Strange. I can't imagine buying anything from this guy.

bookishboy
07-20-06, 08:54 AM
Yeah, I keep seeing these too. I don't have any experience with the guy, but I tend to get turned off by the way he slips in the brand names of every folding bike manufacturer out there. Basically the first paragraph of his seems to be an essay on the different types of folding bikes out there. The obvious reason why he does this is that anyone on Craigslist searching for Brompton, Moulton, Strida, Dahon, Bike Friday, anything..... will come up with his listing in their search results, even though his bike doesn't have anything to do with any of the others.

brakemeister
07-20-06, 10:04 AM
trademark phisching ......

a little away from the original thread , but go to ebay and type in Dahon .....
and guess who is coming up ....

lol


Thor

bookishboy
07-20-06, 08:23 PM
trademark phisching ......

a little away from the original thread , but go to ebay and type in Dahon .....
and guess who is coming up ....

lol


Thor
Yeah, I pointed this out and suggested that Yan might want to remove "Dahon" from his ebay listings. I suppose I can understand these tactics from the sellers' perspectives. It's like search engine optimizing for your website. They're just trying to get as many "hits" on their product listings as possible by using more well-iknown keywords. As a searcher, I find it frustrating and irritating when I come across "polluted" search results, and this would automatically lean me towards disregarding the Downtube bikes as just one more of the el-cheapo folding bikes on ebay.

I say this as an owner of a Downtube, and a pretty happy one. I think in this case it'll do more harm than good to his brand-name. Yan said he'd change the listings, so maybe he took the observation to heart. At any rate, it doesn't seem to be as antagonistic of a business practice as that Wikipedia nonsense, where someone in Taiwan was editing the references to "Dahon" and "Downtube".... elevating one, and degrading the other.