Foo - Yahoo Messenger SCAM

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
KingTermite
09-18-06, 05:01 AM
Be careful Yahoo Messenger users.
I got an IM from one of my friends late last night; noticed it when I got up this morning. It was a website link with some laughy emoticons.
Not thinking anything strange of it (other than the time it came in), I click the geocities link. The page did a quick redirect and it appeared as if yahoo wanted me to log in first. As it was a geocities page (which is owned by Yahoo), I thought that might be kosher. I log in and still get nothing valid.
I asked the friend about it early this morning and she said she never sent me any link. I examine it closer and realize I'm still on a page of this geocities account when Yahoo wanted me to log in.
I'm pretty sure it was a SCAM to get my password. If you get a link from anybody via Yahoo messenger....be careful and DO NOT LOG IN if it wants you to. If you already have, CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD.
catatonic
09-18-06, 05:14 AM
Yep, when I'm asked to install something or do something, without any conversation leading up to it, I will always ask the sender if they sent this. If they act like they don't know, I just thank them and ignore it.
KingTermite
09-18-06, 05:19 AM
Yep, when I'm asked to install something or do something, without any conversation leading up to it, I will always ask the sender if they sent this. If they act like they don't know, I just thank them and ignore it.
yeah...I never got anything like this through messenger before, so I wasn't expecting it. Through email...sure. This seemed perfectly viable that the friend might just send a link for some funny website she found.
I thought this was gonna be a lesson on not giving your package to any non-certified bike messengers.
SaabFan
09-18-06, 06:00 AM
Uh oh. All your base are belong to them!
Michigander
09-18-06, 10:02 AM
My computer won't even let me log into yahoo, I have to do it through www.meebo.com. I don't even think I can get messages like that.
The offline message links are a popular to spread viruses, worms particularly, and phishing. The worst one I have seen was a funny link that after you clicked on it, your IM was logged into from a remote site later on. Then your contact list was used to spread the worm. I was able to correct mine with corprate edition, but my friend with regular symantec had to reformat.
I should have been aware that she only sent me links by email or while we were chatting. Now I check with the sender and do not click on any offline message links.
blonduathlongrl
09-18-06, 10:45 AM
thank you!
bbattle
09-18-06, 10:51 AM
What's IM?
KingTermite
09-18-06, 10:52 AM
What's IM?
immigrating monkeys
SaabFan
09-18-06, 10:53 AM
Impestuous monitors.
KingTermite
09-18-06, 10:56 AM
Irregular Movements :eek:
Be careful Yahoo Messenger users.
I got an IM from one of my friends late last night; noticed it when I got up this morning. It was a website link with some laughy emoticons.
Not thinking anything strange of it (other than the time it came in), I click the geocities link. The page did a quick redirect and it appeared as if yahoo wanted me to log in first. As it was a geocities page (which is owned by Yahoo), I thought that might be kosher. I log in and still get nothing valid.
I asked the friend about it early this morning and she said she never sent me any link. I examine it closer and realize I'm still on a page of this geocities account when Yahoo wanted me to log in.
I'm pretty sure it was a SCAM to get my password. If you get a link from anybody via Yahoo messenger....be careful and DO NOT LOG IN if it wants you to. If you already have, CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD.
I'm pretty sure I've gotten that exact same message from a "friend". I didn't log on to geocities or anything, but I was still pretty worried after that. And I guess my messenger then sent that same message to everyone on my contact list. Ack, I'm definitely a lot more careful after that! :(
SaabFan
09-18-06, 11:00 AM
Improper malignants!
bbattle
09-18-06, 11:02 AM
So, King Termite got an irregular movement from a friend last night? Some friend. Who was it, Explody Pup?
KingTermite
09-18-06, 11:10 AM
So, King Termite got an irregular movement from a friend last night? Some friend. Who was it, Explody Pup?
Nah...it was SpokesInMyPoop. :)
blonduathlongrl
09-18-06, 11:18 AM
What's IM?
International Morons
KingTermite
09-18-06, 12:24 PM
Interesting Mammories
SaabFan
09-18-06, 12:29 PM
Ingested M's
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y30/derwillezurmacht/mm.jpg
blonduathlongrl
09-18-06, 01:59 PM
:lol: there we all go again.. you know the saying.. you give them an inch...
SaabFan
09-18-06, 02:00 PM
Imbecile meglomaniacs?
russiankdi
09-18-06, 02:24 PM
actually you might want to do a virus scan, because thats a virus that is planted onto the pc. it hacks into a persons screenname while the virus is on hte computer and sends an Im to everyone on the buddylist or w/e and gives a link, you click the link and you got a virus
linux_author
09-18-06, 02:32 PM
Interesting Mammories
mammories?
[choke, splutter, coffee up the nasal passages]
:-)
p.s. i *always* respond to phishing emails! i figure that the more people respond to them with junk data, the more time the scammers waste on failed login attempts! kinda like a reverse 419 scam, but without the satisfaction of getting a polaroid of some Nigerian with a sign around his neck...
oh, and for contact information i always supply the state attorney general's office information...
SaabFan
09-18-06, 02:45 PM
actually you might want to do a virus scan
I suggest reformatting.
Oh, followed by a nice clean linux installation. :D
KingTermite
09-18-06, 02:46 PM
actually you might want to do a virus scan, because thats a virus that is planted onto the pc. it hacks into a persons screenname while the virus is on hte computer and sends an Im to everyone on the buddylist or w/e and gives a link, you click the link and you got a virus
Already have....I have NOD32 running all the time.
KingTermite
09-18-06, 02:47 PM
I suggest reformatting.
Oh, followed by a nice clean linux installation. :D
Got Linux on the other box. ;)
actually you might want to do a virus scan, because thats a virus that is planted onto the pc. it hacks into a persons screenname while the virus is on hte computer and sends an Im to everyone on the buddylist or w/e and gives a link, you click the link and you got a virus
déjà vu
im = Ignoramus Maximus
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.