General Cycling Discussion - Is this bike for real?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
Try as I might, I just can't spot any Campy parts on this bike. http://cgi.ebay.com/The-trademark-is-new-RACING-BIKE_W0QQitemZ300037656989QQihZ020QQcategoryZ72573QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem Maybe, just maybe, do you think this is a bogus auction. :eek:
Tim
crypticlineage
10-15-06, 06:16 AM
The item is located in China which itself is very suspicious. And yes, it has every sign of a bogus auction.
Johnny_Monkey
10-15-06, 07:18 AM
I think it might be real as who the hell would want buy such a pos anyway?
FarHorizon
10-15-06, 08:37 AM
Obviously, the poster got her/his links messed up. Somewhere there's probably a junker ad with photos of a Campy 10 setup.
I couldn't help but ask the seller a question.
Hello,
I am very interested in the bike for sale. Could you clarify which components are Campagnolo and which part of the frame is Bianchi? Both are highly respected companies.
Thank you,
Stephen
operator
10-15-06, 12:39 PM
Well if the latest neg feedback on the sellers account isn't a good enough warning, I don't know what is.
Well if the latest neg feedback on the sellers account isn't a good enough warning, I don't know what is.
"I AM VERY SAD THAT YOU WOULD TRY AND DID TAKE ME FOR MY MONEY. YOU LIED TO ME"
It was for a custom Full Front Lace Remy Hair Wig (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=15631&item=300027117709)! What could possibly have gone wrong?
slowandsteady
10-15-06, 06:34 PM
Wow, I have seen some bogus ads, but this one takes the cake.
v1k1ng1001
10-15-06, 11:03 PM
Peewee Herman's bike has nothing on this rig.
Mentor58
10-16-06, 09:07 AM
I've GOT to get me a set of of those "Look Feet Step" components. Thanks for posting, it has lightened up what was turning into a very bad day at work.
Steve W.
Dr.Deltron
10-16-06, 09:16 AM
And did anyone notice the one high bidder has the same kind of random letter/number combo as the seller?
Maybe they are friends.
AND, if I'm not mistaken, the seller is the same one who sold me a Windcheetah recumbent trike for 99 CENTS buy it now! (never DID pay for it;) )
Little Darwin
10-16-06, 09:36 AM
And did anyone notice the one high bidder has the same kind of random letter/number combo as the seller?
Maybe they are friends.
AND, if I'm not mistaken, the seller is the same one who sold me a Windcheetah recumbent trike for 99 CENTS buy it now! (never DID pay for it;) )
And most of the existing feedback is from accounts with similar account names and no feedback of their own. Interesting scheme to get a high feedback score, at least for a while...
Did you also notice that shippint will take 35-45 days, but they will gladly refund (minus shipping) if the item is returned within 30 days?
With over 30 days for shipping they should have the opportunity to bilk many people before being shut down... and even then receive very little negative feedback... isn't the feedback period less than the shipping time?
And did anyone notice the one high bidder has the same kind of random letter/number combo as the seller?
Maybe they are friends.
Here is the auction from the current high bidder's single feedback score.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=94392&item=130024256319
It looks like a sharp pair of Guess sunglasses.
Dr.Deltron
10-16-06, 04:39 PM
OK, I just reported it to eBay! Let's see how long it takes to be removed!!;)
Comes equipped with all of our latest knock offs:D
Dr.Deltron
10-17-06, 09:09 AM
OK, I just reported it to eBay! Let's see how long it takes to be removed!!;)
Just got an eMail from SafeHarbor that they will look into it in the next 24 hours.
I've set my timer!
So if you can't find the item after tomorrow, they must have believed me.:rolleyes:
The auction ended, so someone bought it, apparently from the UK.
The grand total with shipping was about $93 U.S.D. I suspect dea952 sold it to one of his associates.
Dr.Deltron
10-18-06, 07:00 PM
Probably himself!
And the auction ended 3 days early! It was originally slated to end on the 21st!:D
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.