General Cycling Discussion - Who should I report this to?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Who should I report this to?


mightypudge
07-12-03, 07:18 PM
I tried to visit the manufacturers websites from an advertisment in the August issue of Bicycling Magazine. But when I tyoed in the URL it redirected me to a deviant pornography site. There was this message at the top of the site:

"This is temporary content displayed until [company name] decides to pay their hosting bill. If you're a porn site looking for some free hosting space, you're welcome to use this space until they pay for it."

I won't name the manufacturer because I wouldn't want anyone visiting this site, but I assure you it is disgusting and inappropriate. I emailed the magazine to warn them, but I think the hosting company is really being irresponsible. The manufacturer is also partly to blame, since their name is the URL.

Does anyone know who this action can be reported to?


Joe Gardner
07-12-03, 07:30 PM
Can you PM me the URL?

If you would rather not, check the domain in whois, and see when the last change date was, or if the owner looks to be correct. I cant imagine a hosting company would put up inappropriate material. It sounds like the domain expired and somebody snapped the domain for traffic.

You may also want to use the wayback machine and find out how long this has been a problem, you may also find the contact info via wayback if the whois isnt upto date.

threadend
07-12-03, 07:37 PM
Reports of internet abuse should be forwarded to abuse@isp.com/net/etc where "isp" in the above would be replaced with the actual isp name such as "aol"; "msn" or the like.

So if for example the offending page was hosted on earthlink you would send mail to: abuse@earthlink.net

Hope that helps.


bg4533
07-12-03, 07:39 PM
You are sure this is a ligitimate store right? Is this definitely the right URL for their website? I wonder if a porn site could have created a fake store to lure in business or if they could have used a legit store with their own website. Could also be victims of the hacks that happened last week and no one has noticed/ bothered to fix it yet.

Brian

Joe Gardner
07-12-03, 07:53 PM
email this guy: les@imagepipe.com , he is listed as the administrative contact for the URL in question, I doubt he is the owner of the company. I'm not finding much info at all on the company in question...

I would NEVER host with a site that puts up porn when the hosting bill is missed. Amazing.

bg4533
07-12-03, 11:20 PM
Is it good porn at least? ;)

Greg
07-13-03, 09:02 AM
Originally posted by bg4533
Is it good porn at least? ;)

Lots of poodles in sweaters posed amongst unwashed vegetables. So, yes.

orguasch
07-13-03, 11:41 AM
you guys are great, at least there is a vegetable picture on the site:D :D

Crazy Cyclist
07-14-03, 10:24 AM
mightypudge, free porn, please post the website, I never like to turn down free porn:)