"The 33"-Road Bike Racing - isn't this bike worth a LOT more than $500

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
mikemets5
08-02-03, 08:01 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3620037084&category=7298
Looking for a Winter bike for my indoor trainer that has Campy.
Looks like it's in British pounds perhaps? Shows $810 American. Still a good deal probably. If they're in GB shipping would be spendy.
Looks like they love yellow as they painted the garage doors to match.
well Cane would say it is :D
yes it is Pounds Sterling so its a bit over $800 right now.
Marty
That bike is going to cost more than the $500. There's a reserve, so it will probably be much higher than that.
Besides all that, the guy selling the bike has NO history with ebay, and he's out of the country. I wouldn't touch that bike with a stick if they offered up Lance Armstrong as a side dish for my personal desires.... pass this bike up.
My sister tried to get some recording equipment from a guy in England. He stiffed her, and she tried like crazy to get the money back (sent over a money order) or get the equipment. She didn't ever get either. She tried to get recourse through ebay, but they did nothing for her, just registered her complaint, did a bull crap, half @ssed investigation, and closed the case. :(
Not to say that folks in England are robbers- just that when folks are in other countries, I think you are taking a risk, especially if they don't have a history.
Sit it out man... sit it out!
Koff
I read the posts over at RoadBikeReview too and they're full of warnings about scams from people who claim to be in either England or Canada and are really in .......God knows where.
This is, if a scam, a bit different as most of those offer USPS replica Treks for really low prices and they don't have reserves. Also the spelling/grammar is much better than that of the scammers.
I'd still stay away. Unfortunately, you have to be wary with a person with no feedback. Of course everybody started that way but......
Is it a topline Fondriest? If it is, why the Veloce? If I were to take the plunge on a frame like that I'd jump in the deep end of the pool and at least go Chorus and I think most who buy frames like that probably agree.
Stay away.
:beer:
bikerchas55
08-03-03, 05:56 AM
$800 will fetch a lot of bike on ebay and probably one closer to home.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.