Tandem Cycling - Augusta, Maine; Victor's Cycle Store?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
born2pdl
11-12-07, 08:29 PM
I'm trying to figure out if this place really exists or if they have a bike sale scam going on. Anyone in Maine know?
Victor's Cycling Store
360 Western Ave
Augusta, ME
04330-6013
victorsbikes.com
TandemGeek
11-12-07, 08:45 PM
Well, if they're a real shop I wonder why they decided to knock-off their "about us" from a REAL bicycle shop in Maryland.... almost word-for-word ... instead of creating their own history and business spiel.
Your Shop's Web Site "About Us"
http://www.victorsbikes.byethost13.com/aboutus.htm
The Real Shop's "About Us"
http://www.thebicycleplace.com/about_the_shop/index.html
bikeriderdave
11-13-07, 08:22 AM
Fascinating...
http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sfc/bik/477201354.html
http://forums.cervelo.com/forums/t/551.aspx
I'm trying to figure out if this place really exists or if they have a bike sale scam going on. Anyone in Maine know?
Victor's Cycling Store
360 Western Ave
Augusta, ME
04330-6013
victorsbikes.com
Scam. I work in the business in Augusta, Maine and never heard of the joint. In fact, I think there's a pizza place or C-store at that address.
Top
dvs cycles
11-13-07, 03:22 PM
Anyone with a good COP voice try contacting the phone#?
These guys if fraud should be reported as such. What else do the police in Maine have to do?
Anyone with a good COP voice try contacting the phone#?
These guys if fraud should be reported as such. What else do the police in Maine have to do?
The same things that cops have to do anywhere else, except they have to cover more area with fewer bodies. Chasing down out-of-state scam artists is going to be pretty far down the to-do list.
These yahoos AREN'T in Maine, only the address they are using is. In fact, a quick Google shows a Mexican restaurant attached to a motel at that address; guess it wasn't a pizza place:o
Top
(Who's thinking about building up a tandem and has begun to lurk prior to asking questions)
Fenlason
11-13-07, 04:26 PM
I am surprised to see someone else from Maine... here and beat me to an answer.
I live perhaps 20 miles away.. and have worked in bike shops for the last 25 years... some of that time in Augusta... there is no such shop.
What can someone do about this?
I don't think it is a local police matter?
glenn
Not local, as only the address that they swiped is in Maine.
As to what can be done.....I don't know.
Did you ride the Trek this year?
Top
Fenlason
11-13-07, 04:46 PM
I just sent an email to yahoo's fraud line.. and another to an international fraud group.
I seel Trek and Specialized... they will each be notified
glenn
Fenlason
11-13-07, 04:52 PM
I work the trek across Maine as a Mechanic
glenn
runner23
12-10-07, 03:09 PM
I found an ad on Craigslist today in Austin for a brand new Ellsworth Truth w/full XTR for $2200. I was going to take a look at it until I got this email back,
Dear customer,
Thank you for your interest in our bike. THIS IS A STOCK LIMIT
OFFER!!! We give this discount because we are liquidating our stock.
We have many sizes in this model available right now. Please take a
look at our stock on www.victorsbikes.com and email us with your
model, size and color to see if it is available.
We look forward for your reply,
George Cole,
Sales Dep.,
Victor's Cycling Store,
address: 360 Western Ave., Augusta, ME, 04330, USA
website: www.victorsbikes.com
email: victorsbikes@yahoo.com
fujiroad73
01-11-08, 07:01 PM
it seems weird. I looked at the order form and it seems so strange that you go through the ebay system to purchase item. If you don't like the bike, Ebay is supposed to refund your money. Im very interested in their bikes( cuz of the prices), but would like to know if anyone else has purchased from them.
Not at all weird for a scam.
Go to the web site to the Buy Online page and fill out the order form or leave it blank. Then, hit the Send Order button. Even if you left everything blank, like I did, you'll get a "Your order has been received" message.
JTGraphics
01-11-08, 08:24 PM
I don't know if this is a real store but for me any store that host a webpage on a free web hosting site I wouldn't trust with my money.
Looking at the sites URL and coding in the WebPages I can see that everything is on a free hosting site not to mention any business that uses yahoo and netzero email address I'd stay away from they can disappear anytime with out a trace. (Free hosting space, free email)...... ?
fujiroad73
01-12-08, 12:46 AM
haha, now I know its fake check this site out: same web page , but different store name.:(
http://jeromesbikes.byethost18.com/index.htm
heres the original:
http://www.victorsbikes.byethost13.com/index.htm
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.