Folding Bikes - a-bikeusa.com most likely a fake site? Fishing?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




Weakling
12-10-07, 08:32 AM
If your good at reading scripts. could you take a look at a-bikeusa.com
some of us see it as most likely a fake site. My personal view is that it is
either a friendly joke or a sinister attempt to fish for creditcard info.

If it is very sinister it will download a trojan when we click on things.

so be careful. I don't link to it just in case.

So if your a computer geek could you help us understand how dangerous
such a site is?


senseamp
12-11-07, 06:58 AM
I don't class myself as a geek, but I'm an Apple user and fear no trojans!

I looked at some of the pages and searched the scripts for "exe" which was not found. Is that a reasonable thing to do?

Anyway they give their corporate address as:

A-Bike USA
7705 solimar cir
Boca Raton
FL
USA
33433

Telephone: 5612418084
Fax: 5612418085

Information: this is our corporate address, for mail and shipping only, not a storefront.


Hope that helps.

Weakling
12-11-07, 01:23 PM
I actually followed you implied? suggestion and made a phone call. He has bought people to take care of admin bu he visit them almost daily. Dan Sparrow. He sell Flatscreen TV normally so these bikes are a side thing.

Why on earth does he sell copies in Florida. Don't they care about fakes? Here in Europe such is illegal.

I didn't talk to him personally but they promised to tell him that where I live it is not allowed.

Hopefully he reconsider so nobody get hurt thinking the bikes are the original.


photoassign
12-11-07, 02:27 PM
they promised to tell him that where I live it is not allowed.

i'm certain that it will not make the slightest bit of difference to him.

Weakling
12-11-07, 02:32 PM
So hopefully he will not chase me around the net for being nosy? Would he sue me? One never know.
But would not the cps come knocking on his door. To sell something illegally must me kind of
something they act on? Am I naive?

destro713
12-11-07, 05:10 PM
It's possible that he is indeed the U.S. distributor for A-Bike and he just happens to not have a very good web designer.

-=(8)=-
12-11-07, 05:24 PM
This :

http://westpalmbeach.craigslist.org/bik/473942365.html

Appeared on West Palms Craigslist a while back......

Weakling
12-11-07, 06:04 PM
West Palms Craigslist

Does that means they know he is authorized?

but he is selling copies. Would they allow an autorized dealer to sell copies together with the original ones.

I think DAKA or what is the best suited should decided on it. No way we are to find out unless I ask the one who knows who is and who isn't one.

Kind of suprising they don't tell who is on the England A-bike home page.

brakemeister
12-12-07, 07:53 AM
first phishing and than unauthorized copies..... somebody needs to calm down. The bike industry is by far not big enough that any phishing sceme would make any sense whatsoever. These outfits work with huge numbers to extract maybe one or two "worthwhile" candidates .... ,,,,

and than these copiy story... c'mon who would copy such a thing ? lol looks to me that the manufacturer unloaded a bunch of "this will revolutionize the whole industry"to an unsuspecting guy who is trying to make a buck.. and now he is stuck with them ...

dont always expect the worse in people

thor