Electric Bikes - Possible new Lithium battery

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Possible new Lithium battery


jim124
12-11-07, 08:48 AM
Hey everyone, ive been emailing, calling etc ever company looking for an affordable LiFePO4 pack (i guess affordable and Lithium should not be in the same sentence).

But i just saw this on Flebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/LiFePO4-Lithium-Electric-Scooter-Battery-36V-18AH-NR_W0QQitemZ220182205332QQihZ012QQcategoryZ75210QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

A 36V 18AH!. Wouldn't that give me almost twice the range of a 10AH?

I look at the past history for auctions and there are none for the battery. So i'm a little more than hesitant at this point, but i am interested. What do u think?

Are there some questions i should ask them in perticular about?

thx jim.....


karma
12-11-07, 10:54 AM
not a bad price . thay look to be hand made.
just Guessing buy what looks to be ducktape on the lipo packs.

i would hold off to see if he sells any and to see what the feedback is like. allso that charger looks to be cheap for that type of battery.


hell if there good i would buy one. get rid of my led acids

cerewa
12-11-07, 11:31 AM
Interesting that he/she has no battery related feedback and also no feedback in the last 12 months.

If you could get it for $384 shipped it would be an incredible deal...

but only if it actually works reliably.

Considering the fact that you can buy stuff like high-level world of warcraft character accounts from china, it wouldn't surprise me if you can also buy yourself an ebay account with good feedback. ;)


Saltydawg
12-11-07, 11:04 PM
Wow, this would be a great deal. Hopefully someone will take the risk and tell us all it's safe...

Abneycat
12-11-07, 11:17 PM
I like the fact that most of the relevant technical specs for the battery are provided. From what I understand, the seller is the battery manufacturer itself. The thing I see though, is that the packaging of the cells is low quality. Honestly, my vision isn't 20/20 and those pictures are small-ish, but is that duct tape?

Of course, they might have done a better job of building the pack itself, or they might not have, but the packing isn't an indication of quality in itself. Take that for what its worth..

Another thing I notice, is that this seller hasn't had any activity in the last 12 months, and what they sold beforehand was presumably clothing. On the other hand, they haven't got any negative feedback either, and all of the information they've put on the seller's page is very complete and well presented.

I could go 50/50 on this one. But you can't deny that a battery like that at that price would be incredible. They'll also let you skip the charger and give a small discount, if thats worth anything on the cheap charger comment.

jim124
12-12-07, 06:22 AM
I emailed them last night asking if they were a "verified premier account" (that way i would have a $2000. guarantee from paypal instead of just $200) for at least getting the product. They replied quickly back saying yes. I will try to verify this, i'm really really tempted. But u know about the saying of "if it's too good to be true".

jim....

Endless_BiGH
12-12-07, 09:27 AM
yeah i hate to say it the battery looks dodgy. If you do buy it first thing i'd do is re-mount everything. box the bms (which appears to be just covered with electrical tape.