General Cycling Discussion - Why is this crap so expensive?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
djbowen1
09-21-03, 07:30 PM
http://tourdefrance2.safeshopper.com/5/cat5.htm?517
Because this site is bogus.
It has nothing to do with the Lance Armstrong website.
It has nothing to do with www.letour.com or www.letour.fr
It is some dumbass out there out to turn a few bucks and capitalize off the Tour and Lance's win. I wonder how many fools actually took this site seriously?
Notice the address to send the money- a post office box in KANSAS??!!! When was the last time anyone heard about Lance Armstrong's foundation or any part of his team, or even anything about his training in KANSAS??!!
Please... don't order there- don't throw good money away on a site that got that same stuff for pennies on the dollar, then turned around and sold it to some unsuspecting good people who worked hard to earn that money.
:rolleyes: Damn, I'm getting sick of seeing people take advantage of other people.
Koffee
Allister
09-21-03, 07:43 PM
I believe the term you're looking for is 'market forces'. The price will go as high as people are prepared to pay. Poseurwear like this tends to attract buyers with more money than ability, and so the price can seem unusually high. However, if someone wants to pay $450 so they can look like Lance, I say let them.
djbowen1
09-21-03, 08:01 PM
i ordered the usps hat from usps.com for 15 bucks, actually i preordered it but i was searchig the web for them and stumbled across it when i searched for yellow usps hat and was shocked. What dumbass would pay that. someone must have.
I hope not. Did you see the aol address and the pay using paypal symbol? How unprofessional does that look, considering the fact that the foundation must make a significant amount of money- there's no way they'd be raising money in such an unprofessional, chintzy manner.
Koffee
AquariaGuy
09-21-03, 08:47 PM
Check out his eBay auctions. This guy seems to be making TONS OF MONEY. http://tourdefrance2.safeshopper.com/auctions.htm?517 Some of the stuff (i'm not sure what it is) are selling for $200 american.
pitboss
09-21-03, 10:15 PM
Yeah, I fired him a quick email (as well as LAF) to confirm that 50% of his auctions $$$ is going to the LAF...we soon shall see!
mindbogger
09-21-03, 10:31 PM
an 85 dollar hat.....damn i wouldn't even imagine buying an 85 dollar hat and with the currency exchange...thats even more outrageous! To buy that hat i would hafta work a full day.....how sad....
r600aero
09-22-03, 01:18 AM
I hate scalpers...:( this guy should burn...
Ryan
Well, at least the Trico bike travel case is priced about right.
He does say on his web site that 10% of all proceeds goes
to LAF. And there is a whole section concerning
Peleton Project which has some of the high dollar contributors
to LAF.
I'm guessing its a retail outlet, with ties to PP (i.e. the owner
is a peloton project member), getting donations this way
for Ride for the Roses.
I don't think its anything shady, just expensive.
By the way, did you notice that the 2001 yellow jersey
($450.) has the Konica rider name/number sticker on the
front? wonder if the back has numbers?
Marty
Cyclepath
09-23-03, 12:38 AM
It ain't market forces - it's called "ripoff", "excessive profit", or preying on the unwary. Which of course is what most capitalism is anyway.
Originally posted by Ebro38
It ain't market forces - it's called "ripoff", "excessive profit", or preying on the unwary. Which of course is what most capitalism is anyway.
sad but true:(
No, these are collector items (how many TdF jerseys come
with Lance's number on them? ) that are being auctioned
and/or sold to benefit Peloton project and Lance Armstrong Foundation.
Just because you can't afford it doesn't mean its a ripoff,
inflated prices, preying on the unwary etc.
You should really research a bit more before making statements
like these, at best they are uninformed, at worst they are
inflamitory and ignorant.
from the website :
Most of our donations we raised for the 2000, 2001 and 2002 Lance Armstrong Foundation's, Peloton Project came from donations through sales from this website! Thank you for your support and generosity
and if you read his auctions it states "you will make a check out to
LANCE ARMSTRONG FOUNDATION"
Marty
I still think the merchandise is bogus. You can get those jerseys easily, especially if you're at the races. Then, with very little effort, you can get on your computer and create that Konica sign with the Armstrong and the flag.
Shouldn't at least the 2002 have the Berry Floors logo too? The hats too for 2002, but it's not there.
I think the merchandise is bogus, but it's being passed off as authentic, like it's part of the gear worn by team members or something like that. That I have a problem with.
I also have a problem with whether this guy is really associated with the Peloton Project. If he's really raising the money for the Ride for the Roses, he should just say he's raising money for the ride and leave it at that- not make some kind of clandestine association with a foundation that doesn't even get all the money! And while we're at it, what does this guy mean by "most" of the money going to the foundation? Describe, quantify and define "most", because in the next paragraph, he says:
Ten percent of all proceedes from our site go to the Lance Armstrong Foundation.
How can 10% be "most" of the money going to the foundation?
This guy is crap. the merchandise is crap. Anyone who is buying stuff on this site because they believe they're donating to a worthy cause is being ripped. You might as well go over to the lancearmstrong.com website and order your stuff straight from the foundation website. At least you'll know it's authentic, and you'll also pay less for it.
My 2 cents.
Koffee
Koffee,
Berry Floor didn't sign on as a sponser until 2003.
what he said was most of his Peloton Project donations came
from sales from the web site, not most of the proceeds go to
peloton project, subtle difference here.
Given the association with LAF I don't think he would get
very far selling bogus items. I bet LAF would be very quick
to quash it if it were bogus, They can't afford to have someone
selling fake stuff and associate with either Peleton Project or
LAF.
Check out some of the other charity auctions, there's one
that has an opening bid of $1000 for a LA autographed jersey
(donated by LA). This guy's stuff isn't autographed, but
I think its the real deal.
Yeah, his stuff is expensive, but how much does authentic
stuff go for? I'm thinking quite a bit. He has a lot of items on
e-bay, and a good overall rating, if the stuff were bogus I don't
think he'd have the feedback he does, nor do I think that e-bay
would put up with it very long.
Just my .02 worth too.
Marty
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.