Road Cycling - Why so many Allez Cro-mo, cheap?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Why so many Allez Cro-mo, cheap?


Ebbtide
01-25-04, 08:41 PM
Why am I seeing so many Specialized Allez Elite ro-mo for sale on the net, and cheap. I really wanted one but had to settle on Aluminium a couple months ago. Now they are selling for half price or less.

Is there something to this? Why the unload, did Specialize make too many?

This guy has several:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3657293914&category=7298

This guy has at least four:

http://www.nicolletbike.com/index.php3?page=viewdeal.php3&dealnum=27


indecisive
01-25-04, 08:48 PM
Why am I seeing so many Specialized Allez Elite ro-mo for sale on the net, and cheap. I really wanted one but had to settle on Aluminium a couple months ago. Now they are selling for half price or less.

Is there something to this? Why the unload, did Specialize make too many?

This guy has several:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3657293914&category=7298

This guy has at least four:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3657293914&category=7298

May ebay one may be a scam, the bidder list is private. Plus those list for $1300 on Specialized's website. I just noticed that he has those listed with full Ultegra stuff, Specialized website has them listed as a 105 group.

kptaylor
01-25-04, 09:21 PM
May ebay one may be a scam, the bidder list is private. Plus those list for $1300 on Specialized's website. I just noticed that he has those listed with full Ultegra stuff, Specialized website has them listed as a 105 group.

Possibly. No feedback ever on sales... I sent an e-mail to the seller to get "info", so we'll see if it's a scam.


indecisive
01-25-04, 09:32 PM
Possibly. No feedback ever on sales... I sent an e-mail to the seller to get "info", so we'll see if it's a scam.

Let me know what you find, I'm bike shopping right now and that's a killer deal. I've been doing so much research online that my wife has given me a deadline to order a bike (either online or from LBS) by this Wednesday.

skareb
01-25-04, 09:36 PM
May ebay one may be a scam, the bidder list is private. Plus those list for $1300 on Specialized's website. I just noticed that he has those listed with full Ultegra stuff, Specialized website has them listed as a 105 group.

Allez alloy 105 triple group, Xero XR1 wheelset, ITM stem handle bar, selle italia seat going for USD760 its darn cheap, but I've also heard somewhere they have a bunch of reject frames in the market. I'm not too sure just need to confirm with you guys I was thinking of getting the allez b4 I bought my TCR2 until I heard the rumours.

bg4533
01-25-04, 09:52 PM
Hmmm, even more evidence the Ebay bike is a scam. If you look at the specs they are from a Cro-Mo comp, not the Elite. The picture is from the Elite however. Either a scam or an idiot. Stay away.

Edit: He will also ship worldwide for free...

ezryder03
01-26-04, 08:17 AM
I've been doing so much research online that my wife has given me a deadline to order a bike (either online or from LBS) by this Wednesday.

At least you got an approval and a deadline from your wife. I have to do a lot of manuevering and sneaking parts a little at a time. Takes so long to complete a bike though. Added to that, i have to work hard to pay for those. Wishing you get your bike soon.

Ebbtide
01-26-04, 08:18 AM
I e-mailed him too. I hope he is just stupid. If so, I'll buy them all and pick them up.

As much as i hope this is a real auction, I suspect its a scam.

deliriou5
01-26-04, 09:38 AM
you know what else is fishy.... the sizing. specialized makes number sizes, not small medium large, like giant does

Dahon.Steve
01-26-04, 01:12 PM
Forget these bikes folks. The components alone are almost with the price! It's either a scam or the guy is selling stolen bikes. With free shipping?? Come one!

kptaylor
01-27-04, 07:06 PM
Scam! :mad:

All auctions are now removed. Good thing a few of us e-mailed the seller who apparently had his account hijacked...

Ebbtide
01-27-04, 08:54 PM
Yes, I never got a return mail, but the auction went up to 900.00 before it closed. Sealed bids of course.