Tandem Cycling - What's up with these Cheap Tandem Offers?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




wheelspeed
09-15-08, 10:36 AM
Like this one: http://cardiff.gumtree.com/cardiff/50/25197450.html

This list is on about 20 different websites, from different people. Never a store website or phone number listed. Anyone have any experience with that kind of thing?


Ziemas
09-15-08, 10:38 AM
Like this one: http://cardiff.gumtree.com/cardiff/50/25197450.html

This list is on about 20 different websites, from different people. Never a store website or phone number listed. Anyone have any experience with that kind of thing?

Looks like a variation of the 'Ben's Bikes' (or whatever other hundred names it has) scam.

wheelspeed
09-16-08, 11:48 AM
Yeah, I guess so. Don't know what "Ben's Bikes" is, but I sent an e-mail to two of these websites having tandems, and haven't heard anything back yet. Looks like a scam.


Ziemas
09-16-08, 11:51 AM
Yeah, I guess so. Don't know what "Ben's Bikes" is, but I sent an e-mail to two of these websites having tandems, and haven't heard anything back yet. Looks like a scam.

It's a fake online store that would pop up with really cheap bikes and a million different names, but always the same photos.