Tandem Cycling - this is one good deal of a tandem!

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




the desert fox
09-26-08, 07:18 PM
i think it's a SCAM...

http://toronto.en.craigslist.ca/tor/bik/856694999.html


the desert fox
09-27-08, 11:43 AM
just out of curiosity, i e-mailed the seller and this is the response i got:


Hello,

It's still available for sale at the same price listed on the site.I'm sorry for the late reply the thing is that I've just been re-located to Montreal, QC so we can't make the transaction face to face. The only way we can do this transaction is through i-SoldIt which is the best selling service on eBay that offers protection for both sides and also a 3 days return policy. It will be a $45 fee at the i-SoltIt store that I will pay & also the shipping will be supported by me.

Let me know your decision.






CDN$1500 shipped...too good to be true, eh?
looks like another one of those scam...
i apologize for posting this but let it serve as a warning.

the desert fox
09-27-08, 12:17 PM
more replies...

I will explain how iSOLD it works because I want you to be clear on every aspect of this transaction.You simply drop an item to one of their stores,you find a buyer and they will take care of the rest. When I left to Montreal, QC I've left 7 items for sale in their custody, they just picked up the items from my home and delivered them to a I-SoldIt store , but don't ask what store because I really don't know. I really don't care as long as they take care of the whole transaction process including the shipping and handling.I forgot to mention that the shipping is included in the total price. They offered me a discount on shipping because i am selling a large number of items and i can afford that.

So basically they have the item insured and ready for shipping. So all you have to do now is to send me your shipping details so I can forward them the details in order proceed with the transaction. They will then email you an invoice with all the payment instructions and everything. You'll have to make the payment to one of the iSold It Agents by following the instructions that they will give you in the invoice. As soon as the payment was made you will have to fax the payment details to iSold It and they will start the shipping process once the payment was verified.

Unfortunately the pick up is not possible because this is an urgent sale (the thing is that I have to pay for a deadline and that's why I have listed the items on craigslist). iSOLD It suggested to offer a return policy because my offers would substantially increase, so I am offering a 3 day guarantee. This eliminates the pick up option but you will have the time to inspect it and decide if you want it or not. If for any reason you decide not to keep it, they will give you a full refund and will return the item on my expense.
So if you agree with this terms and decide to proceed, then i will need your full name and shipping address in order to start the transaction.

Thank you
Ronny Brooks [ronny.brooks@yahoo.com]


crwindy
09-27-08, 12:31 PM
Yup, scam it be.
I had looked into something similar, but bailed when all the red flags when up.

birvine
09-27-08, 12:40 PM
Thanks for the heads-up. I e-mailed, too, and the answers were identical to above. What made me wonder was that he apologized for being late with his reply -- which was within ten minutes. Then free shipping. Guarantee. Sounded odd, but being naive... glad I read here that it was a scam. So, what's the deal here? Is iSOLD It not for real, either? Or does he direct the unsuspecting person to his own site? Just curious and relieved. Now to search out a REAL tandem for sale somewhere. Want to get the kids touring with me!!

Brent

birvine
09-27-08, 01:11 PM
With a further question just to see what would happen... I got no reply.

Stray8
09-27-08, 11:05 PM
He said he hadn't used it for years, but he had a picture fo a rear bumper vertical rack ($$$) holding it up.... Probably swiped the pix from some other ad.

cyclesteve
09-28-08, 01:25 PM
Check out this craigslist ad.

cyclesteve
09-28-08, 01:26 PM
Check out this craigslist ad.
http://charlotte.craigslist.org/bik/858504419.html

veloellen
09-28-08, 06:18 PM
That's sort-of funny. Did you email him?

Stray8
09-29-08, 09:14 PM
Here he is posting it in New York Craigslist. Mentions the Draftmaster now. SCAM.

http://newyork.craigslist.org/mnh/bik/857530695.html

birvine
10-01-08, 03:52 PM
718 - 312 - 8533

This is my number from work . Ask for Ronny.

Thanks,
Ronny.

On Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 3:15 PM, BIrvine wrote:
What is your phone number? I have a few questions about the tandem.

Thanks.

This was my latest message. The area code and exchange correspond to NYC. Surprise surprise!! Anyone want to hand this over to the fraud squad? Or, just have fun calling him and run up his cell phone time!!