Foo - The candidates are internet spammers!

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




StupidlyBrave
10-10-08, 06:32 AM
Well, maybe not themselves. Probably not the party either. But they claim to be authorized by RNC and McCain's general election committee.

The email was addressed to my name at a company that hasn't existed for the past 9 years. I don't use the address for correspondence, but I can still access the mailbox. The only exposure this address has ever had was a single posting to alt.cad.autocad in 1996.

The address is of the form <nickname>.<lastname>@<company>.com, so I don't think a dictionary approach would have been used to harvest the address.

Also

:notamused:


Received: from usy90mx04.***.net ([1FF.2FF.1FF.14]) by us194mx13.***.net with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.1830);
Wed, 8 Oct 2008 16:26:02 -0400
Received: from us194mx96mail.tycoelectronics.com ([1FF.1FF.1FF.145]) by usy90mx04.***.net with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.1830);
Wed, 8 Oct 2008 16:26:02 -0400
X-SBRS: 3.6
X-IronPort-Anti-Spam-Filtered: true
X-IronPort-Anti-Spam-Result: Ank/AHO07EhAv3ghiGdsb2JhbAAQAYE/ikcBhzkBAQEVIpJsfpAYCYcEa38
X-IronPort-AV: E=Sophos;i="4.33,379,1220241600";
d="scan'208";a="20751556"
Received: from mx.speechissues.com ([64.191.120.33])
by us194mx96mail.***.com with ESMTP; 08 Oct 2008 16:25:13 -0400
Message-ID: <F8A282581C8139EEf89e3febf8292d36@speechissues.com>
From: "John McCain" <johnmccain@speechissues.com>
To: "*** *****" <***.*****@***.COM>
Subject: Emergency Voter Registration & Get-Out-The-Vote Effort
Date: Wed, 08 Oct 2008 16:25:58 -0400
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII
Return-Path: johnmccain@speechissues.com
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 08 Oct 2008 20:26:02.0741 (UTC) FILETIME=[1559FA50:01C92984]


Hobartlemagne
10-10-08, 06:42 AM
No surprise. Also they don't have to follow the new telemarketer phone laws either.
They should be thankful for all the gullible people who put their names and numbers
on the do-not-call list. It doesn't apply to political campaigns and they are allowed
to use the list to get numbers.

artifice
10-10-08, 08:22 AM
As someone who is on the sending side of SPAM- pretty much, if they provide a postal address and opt-out mechanism its legit.

unfortunately.