Tandem Cycling - Calfee/DaVinci Tandem on eBay

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Calfee/DaVinci Tandem on eBay


swc7916
03-05-09, 01:34 PM
The title says it all:

http://cgi.ebay.com/DAVINCI-DESIGNS-JOINT-VENTURE-TANDEM-BICYCLE_W0QQitemZ120387278346QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item120387278346&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A10%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318


zonatandem
03-05-09, 10:06 PM
A bargain price.
Wonder why it's being sold with almost 0 miles?

duppie
03-06-09, 09:47 AM
Wonder why it's being sold with almost 0 miles?

I wonder the same thing. Having shopped for a used tandem in the last few months, I noticed a dozen or so tandems that fit this pattern. Purchase price upwards of $5k, limited miles (typically less than 1000 miles, sometimes less than 100 miles)

Besides the occasional family circumstance (stoker/captain gets sick, moving, etc.) being a reason, the only reason I can think of is the economic bonfire of that vanities that raged for the last 5 years or so. People were just giddy with cash/easy credit and lost their sense of reality. Once they bought it they found that stoker and/or captain really didn't like it that much.

Of course I can't really complain. We bought a slightly used Co-Motion Speedster Co-Pilot for about %40 percent of the replacement value.

Which reminds me to thank TandemGeek for his Used Tandem Guide. That spreadsheet was tremendously helpful in doing a quick check and find out whether a particular tandem was a good deal.

Duppie


merlinextraligh
03-06-09, 09:59 AM
Or people with more money than sense think they want a tandem, go out and get the best available and find tandeming isn't for them.

Bet whoever bought this wishes they would have gone the used Burley route.

joe@vwvortex
03-06-09, 10:54 AM
Or people with more money than sense think they want a tandem, go out and get the best available and find tandeming isn't for them.

Bet whoever bought this wishes they would have gone the used Burley route.

I bet whoever bought this doesn't care what it cost. If they did - they wouldn't give it away.

dfcas
03-06-09, 12:12 PM
There is also a Calfee tandem on the 'bay. Note the 130 spacing.

http://cgi.ebay.com/CALFEE-TETRA-TETRA-TANDEM-BICYCLE-CARBON-FIBER-BIKE_W0QQitemZ130290986167QQihZ003QQcategoryZ56192QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

TandemGeek
03-06-09, 04:53 PM
Somebody needs to buy this daVinci before I do.... because it's my size.

Seriously, this is a Small size carbon daVinci Joint Venture with frame by Calfee. The buyer purchased the tandem in the hope that his handicapped son would be able to ride the bike, but it just didn't work out.

This is an incredible deal at the buy-it-now price.

masiman
03-06-09, 05:05 PM
Somebody needs to buy this daVinci before I do.... because it's my size.

Seriously, this is a Small size carbon daVinci Joint Venture with frame by Calfee. The buyer purchased the tandem in the hope that his handicapped son would be able to ride the bike, but it just didn't work out.

This is an incredible deal at the buy-it-now price.

If we could afford it we would, but we need a triplet more than a second tandem.

Great price.

R900
03-06-09, 06:30 PM
Must be the economy, bikes look great!

mikefranktroymi
03-07-09, 06:13 PM
The description looks like it was taken from Davinci's description from their website. The grammar in the posting looks very similar to an email I received when I attempted to sell my tandem last year, from a scammer. Before, you send any $'s, Get the serial number, contact Davinci and make sure this is a real deal. Take particular note of "join" venture and the multiple sizes for the stokers bars. I hope I am wrong but, mom always said if a deal seems to good to be true then it usually is.

If the sale is legit, please accept my apologies, I just don't want to see someone hurt in a scam.

TandemGeek
03-07-09, 06:33 PM
contact Davinci and make sure this is a real deal. Take particular note of "join" venture and the multiple sizes for the stokers bars. I hope I am wrong but, mom always said if a deal seems to good to be true then it usually is.

Can't speak for the veracity of the Ebay ad, but the tandem is real and spec'd as described based on an Email exchange I had with Todd at daVinci before posting the additional info at 06:53 PM on 03-06-09, i.e., posting #7 in this thread.

Serious buyers should contact the seller and that will likely clear up any issues, i.e., which bike shop will be doing the packing, etc... Asking for the SN is also a good precaution. But that goes for any sale.

mikefranktroymi
03-08-09, 01:09 PM
That is good news and I apologize to the seller and anyone considering purchasing. I have grown leary of great deals after my experience.

PMK
03-11-09, 08:57 PM
Well it did sell, one bid and what appears to be a smokin deal for the new owner.

Anyone know who got it?

PK