Pacific Northwest - Worth it?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
knobster
09-06-09, 10:43 AM
http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/bik/1360956649.html
Nice bike for a nice price huh? Man, I wish these idiots would move on.... You guys get this sort of garbage up in Seattle also?
jonny wong
09-07-09, 01:00 AM
wtf seriously, you post threads bout CL ads in the PNW section.......?
knobster
09-07-09, 01:07 AM
Yeah, your problem? I live in Portland..... Last time I checked this was PNW.
Edit: What I'm getting at is this is a scam. Seems to be happening quite frequently lately. Was wondering if people in other parts of the PNW is seeing this as well and maybe a warning to other people to be weary of it.
gberger1
09-08-09, 07:08 PM
If he thinks his bike is worth that much so be it, if you dont like the price, dont buy it. Simple as that. No need to post something like this to show us that there are people in the world that dont see things the same way you do, thats what we have the news, peoples court, MTV, hell any reality tv show for.
knobster
09-08-09, 11:54 PM
man, you guys just aren't getting what I'm trying to say here. It's a scam..... If you do a google search, this same identical ad shows up in pages upon pages of craigslist ads. I've responded to one before and what the scam is, is he is out of the country and wants you to send the money to his EBay buyer account (or something like that). Needless to say, you'll never see the bike or your money again.
My message here was as a warning. I've seen this ad all over the PNW.
Now do you guys understand?
Edit: Personally, if it was real, they could get twice what they are asking. That is what alerted me that it was a scam in the first place.
You original link is gone now, but yeah we get plenty of scam posts on craigslist up here too. Recently there was a nearly new serotta with full record for $400 or some such thing.
knobster
09-09-09, 09:44 AM
What's bad is this ad is written really well. Usually those scams are easy to see, but this person did a very good job. If it wasn't for a "too good to be true" price, I would have completely bought it.
FlowerBlossom
09-09-09, 12:09 PM
Thanks for the warning.
It's totally appropriate, IMHO, to put up links like this, if it's part of the PNW. The ad was removed before I could see it, though, I have to assume it was Portland, OR.