Commuting - Looking to buy new bike

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : Looking to buy new bike


frogmanc
09-06-09, 02:36 PM
Can anyone tell me if Bikesdirect.com is a legit company? They are an online store that seems to advertise everywhere including here. There prices seem almost too good to be true. Does anyone have experience with them or know where I can confirm that they are legit? tnx.


mustang1
09-06-09, 02:55 PM
Yes they are a legal business. I suggest you put on your flame suit now. :)
Maybe look more at the frame quality than the headline figures.

DX-MAN
09-06-09, 02:56 PM
Yes, they are legit; bought a MTB from them once, about 6 years ago. It was a P.O.S., but it was a MTB.

Deal at your own risk.


FlatSix911
09-06-09, 03:00 PM
Yes, BD is a legitimate company.
They offer excellent quality bikes at half of the retail price charged at local bike shops, however, you will need to assemble the bike yourself (or pay a LBS to do it for $50-60).

Don't listen to the naysayers on this forum - think for yourself and decide if an on-line purchase is right for you. Are you comfortable using Amazon, Ebay or Craigslist for purchasing?
One more suggestion - develop a good relationship with your local bike shop for cycling gear, service and accessories. I used my LBS for test rides to ensure I got the right fit - then had them do a pro fit and purchased a bunch of gear (shoes, pedals, etc...). I saved $1,500 and the LBS is happy to have my continued business.

Good luck and use the forum as a resource :thumb:

nashcommguy
09-06-09, 03:03 PM
Can anyone tell me if Bikesdirect.com is a legit company? They are an online store that seems to advertise everywhere including here. There prices seem almost too good to be true. Does anyone have experience with them or know where I can confirm that they are legit? tnx.

Lotsa folks here have used them to varying results. My experience was great. Ordered the bike on a Saturday and received it the following Wednesday. Over 7000 commuting/utility miles later I'm still on the original truing/adjustments, etc. Got a CX bike w/cx tires...too soft for the street, so I got a set of 28mm SMPs. If you're a DIY bike mechanic who knows how to build and true wheelsets assembly upon receipt should be a snap. Otherwise, have your lbs do it for 50.00 or whatever. Bikesdirect is a brokerage and inspect about 1/10th of 1% of the bikes they receive/sell. They're as responsive to issues as they can be. The bikes are pretty good for the money. Make sure you KNOW what you're buying and that it's the correct size for you, etc. Do I recommend them? Yes. Good bikes at very reasonable prices w/no shipping.

BTW, I got this bike: http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/fantom_cross_cx2.htm in yellow w/a 56cm frame.