iamlucky13
11-19-09, 09:08 PM
I got a advertisement from them in the mail addressed "Anonymous Coward." Some of you may recognize that as the handle for those posting on slashdot.org who don't want to identify themselves. I did so for a while before I signed up for an account.
At first I thought it had to be a joke, with them basically admitting they were sending out mailings to addresses without knowing who lived there. However, the letter was the standard, boring, "Dear Anonymous Coward, did you know you could save hundreds, blah, blah, blah..."
Maybe I'm being paranoid, but I can't shake the conviction that they've somehow managed to link those posts to my mailing address.
That's creepy because I'm pretty careful about my personal information. I always stop and think where the information could end up before I even give a site my mailing-list email (which is separate from my personal account), much less my home address, and certainly not when I'm making anonymous posts. In fact, I don't even remember posting anonymously on slashdot in the time that I've lived at my current address.
Granted, all they have is an incorrect "name," but how'd they do it? How do I stop them? Is Flo part of the Matrix?
:twitchy:
At first I thought it had to be a joke, with them basically admitting they were sending out mailings to addresses without knowing who lived there. However, the letter was the standard, boring, "Dear Anonymous Coward, did you know you could save hundreds, blah, blah, blah..."
Maybe I'm being paranoid, but I can't shake the conviction that they've somehow managed to link those posts to my mailing address.
That's creepy because I'm pretty careful about my personal information. I always stop and think where the information could end up before I even give a site my mailing-list email (which is separate from my personal account), much less my home address, and certainly not when I'm making anonymous posts. In fact, I don't even remember posting anonymously on slashdot in the time that I've lived at my current address.
Granted, all they have is an incorrect "name," but how'd they do it? How do I stop them? Is Flo part of the Matrix?
:twitchy:
Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.