Road Cycling - Trek SSL "prototype" on Ebay: Is it for real?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




bluhorizan
08-24-04, 02:46 PM
Saw a Trek SSL on Ebay last night (Carbon 55, 14.9 lb bike). Item number 3695860661. Auction closes today at about 3pm PST. Pictures show a bike using pictures posted elsewhere which show Armstrong's SSL. Seller doesn't respond to emails. Bike has no reserve and is apparently in Spain.

Trek reportedly won't start delivery of this model in limited numbers until November and the retail price is $6999.00. The current bid is about $3500

Is this for real or a scam?


no3puttchad
08-24-04, 02:50 PM
Seems like all the bikes coming from Spain are scams...do a search, you will find lots of them reported on here.

JBehrmann
08-24-04, 02:51 PM
They have only bought two things in the last two weeks. They only take money orders. Scam!


blueorder
08-24-04, 02:54 PM
I call shenanigans...

look at the last bidder safebidder5 and I knew I had seen those pictures before --> Cycling News (http://www.cyclingnews.com/teamtech04.php?id=tech/2004/probikes/madone_ssl_armstrong). Also, look at the stuff the seller has sold/bought before..nothing is cycling stuff and all of the sudden he's selling Madones...

Sounds like hijaked account to me...

originalbart
08-24-04, 03:01 PM
Not to mention the fact that the seller's information looked like this during their previous transactions:

Shipping and payment details
Shipping and handling:
Check item description and payment instructions or contact seller for details.
Will arrange for local pickup only (no shipping).
Seller's payment instructions & return policy:
Cash, Pay Pal, or money order please. I live in Phoenix, AZ 85044 near Elliott and I-10.

...apparently Chrislogin2000 has made a big move from Arizona to Barcelona! Definitely a hijacked User ID!