Singlespeed & Fixed Gear - ebay scam?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




View Full Version : ebay scam?


sohi
08-25-04, 03:15 AM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=72574&item=3696018837&rd=1

this doesnt look right to me. this guy has 0 feedback. the pics look like those from
the bikecult website. and the payment options are from the 60ies. he would have got me
if it was red though.

edit: the pics ARE still on the bikecult site.


royalflash
08-25-04, 03:35 AM
well spotted -it looks highly suspicious- no feedback, the english is a little awkward, he has "all sizes" but only one colour and "contact me before bidding"- what is all that about? I bet he doesn't want to use ebay escrow - I wouldn't send this guy all your money :)

sohi
08-25-04, 03:45 AM
he made a good move to start with £221 that way he ensures ebay a small fee
and they wont bother him.


Serbaside
08-25-04, 05:27 AM
Send him a email asking a techincal question and see what he says

Heres a quick link to bike cult...http://www.bikecult.com/works/archive/04bicycles/cinelliOPRK.html
Dam you have a good memory

skitbraviking
08-25-04, 05:40 AM
Must have been the only color on the back of the truck.

trespasser
08-25-04, 05:42 AM
edit: the pics ARE still on the bikecult site.

It's just pasteddirectly from bikecult site.
Try click+control on the image and open in a new window.

And the guy talks funny...

sohi
08-25-04, 06:44 AM
I asked him where in the UK he is and if I could see the bike or pick it up.

sohi
08-25-04, 07:22 AM
his reply is this:

"i`m sorry for payment i use wire transfer and for shipping UPS Overnight.If you want to buy i wait to email me "

Do you think I should report him to ebay? I dont want anyone to get ripped of by this guy.

g_taco
08-25-04, 07:35 AM
What are you waiting for? I got a similar respose and I already reported to ebay. You could do the same.

HereNT
08-25-04, 07:44 AM
I'd report it too.

sohi
08-25-04, 08:46 AM
ok, done. What a moron. grrr

Pedal Wench
08-25-04, 12:42 PM
Sorry guys, I'm not normally in this forum, but I had the same experience. Someone would post Cannondale R1000's, in all sizes, with the pic straight off the Cannondale webpage. Big letters, "CONTACT SELLER BEFORE BIDDING". Starting bid for this $1699.00 (US) bike was $199! The ebay page was up for a day, then disappear. A few days later, same item, same wording and everything, but different name for the seller. WAY too weird for my taste! I couldn't report it, because they kept changing names and then would disappear for a day or two. Oh - and they were shipping from Spain - not that that is suspicious.

Mr. Shadow
08-25-04, 07:46 PM
That's a beautiful bike though....