General Cycling Discussion - Anyone familiar with crafts-road.com?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




Camilo
04-02-10, 01:32 PM
I'm wondering if anyone has either positive or negative experiences with this company.

Thanks.


JanMM
04-02-10, 04:20 PM
They are in Indonesia. That could be an issue. Or not.

Camilo
04-02-10, 06:18 PM
Yea I figured that out. I have had two email exchanges with them, to that's not too bad. Their website is quite professional and functional. Big red flag: no paypal or credit card, only money transfer to their account. I was actually going to try buying something (relatively) cheap to see if it worked and they were honest, but I can't see anything cheaper than a complete groupset on their site. I'll report back on this thread if I find anything out.


JanMM
04-02-10, 07:32 PM
Complete bikes, framesets or groupsets. Nothing cheap to gamble on.

Camilo
04-03-10, 11:36 PM
All I know so far is that I've had two or three email exchanges and they are responsive - although not all that proficient at English. Payment is only by bank transfer, I couln't talk them into doing a credit card or paypal transaction (from which I could get some security probably). Really too bad they don't have a ~$100 or less item to purchase. I'd be willing to gamble that much, but not $500 (the cheapest groupset they have).

R.Ly
11-09-10, 07:21 AM
All I know so far is that I've had two or three email exchanges and they are responsive - although not all that proficient at English. Payment is only by bank transfer, I couln't talk them into doing a credit card or paypal transaction (from which I could get some security probably). Really too bad they don't have a ~$100 or less item to purchase. I'd be willing to gamble that much, but not $500 (the cheapest groupset they have).

Camilo, did you end up buying anything from Crafts Roads? I am shopping for a new mountain bike and they have the model and I looking at for about 1/4 of the price locally. On top of that, the bike is a Specialized, and Specialized typically does not allow their bikes to be shipped. So obviously I am skeptical and looking for some actual experiences with this company. Any help?

itsthewoo
11-09-10, 09:33 AM
Camilo, did you end up buying anything from Crafts Roads? I am shopping for a new mountain bike and they have the model and I looking at for about 1/4 of the price locally. On top of that, the bike is a Specialized, and Specialized typically does not allow their bikes to be shipped. So obviously I am skeptical and looking for some actual experiences with this company. Any help?
Huge red flag: Their webhosting account has gotten suspended.

StephenH
11-09-10, 11:47 AM
As if finding the bike for 1/4 the price wasn't a huge red flag.

R.Ly
11-15-10, 06:41 AM
Thanks for the responses. I too had a few email exchanges and they do reply promptly. However I did a lot of Googling on the name and cannot find one post where someone actually made a purchase. All the links were to people asking the same question: "Are these guys legit?" No one is biting, I guess.

Also what I found strange was that they quoted 2011 model of the bike I am looking at for even cheaper than the 2010 model.

Anyway, I am skipping on this one.