Classic and Vintage Bicycles: What's it Worth? Appraisals and Inquiries - Bianchi Nuova Racing in celeste with full Campy: why hasn't it sold?

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
ElliotSF
04-19-11, 12:46 AM
I've been watching this bike on CL. The price is no bargain, but I don't think it's outrageous considering the San Francisco market. So: Any guesses on why this bike hasn't sold, and any guesses on what it'll sell for? (I may make an offer on it.) Thanks.
http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sfc/bik/2328134909.html
The ones I have seen were not 100% Campy, they had some Ofmega bits (I had one). No guesses on that San Fran market. Sure didn't get that price here in Hooterville.
Looks bigger than a 54 to me.
norskagent
04-19-11, 06:48 AM
It would be rare indeed if equipped with "Campagnolo bars and neck" :rolleyes:
Poguemahone
04-19-11, 07:34 AM
Prolly because it's at a magic price point. I've noticed stuff on CL moves insanely quick below a certain level-- here I think it is about 150$-- and sits like a bump on a log above that price point, even if it is fairly priced. I don't think most CL communities are any different. The magic price point is a bit higher for brifter equipped bikes. But not much.
Bianchigirll
04-19-11, 08:13 AM
I think it is a tad overpriced, it is in nice shape though. the seller also has no idea about the bike. how did he measure that at 54cm? looks closer to 58 to me. also as others pointed out it is very likely not all Campi, just by looking at the brakes I believe they are Modolo (atleast the calipers). I would not be suprised if a close inspection revealed Ofmega crankset, Miche (or Ofmega) hubs, and Mavic rims.
again it looks like a nice bike but is not what the seller claims and anyone spending $500 on a used bike can see it is not as advertised.
A google search shows the bike on CL originally listed at $375 but has been deleted. He may have gotten a bunch e mails and decided to raise the price. I see that often on ads I respond to. It's a fair price for an end user and up it goes. Then it sits, and sits.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/29013921@N00/sets/72157614932229152/
Looks like a 58cm to me. I had one go through my hands in August '10 and had Ofmega headset, cranks and hubs. Campagnolo Nuovo Record derailleurs and shifters. Super Champion rims. Modolo Flash brakes. 3TTT stem , seatpost and bars. All the specs matched the catalog for that year. I didn't have the original pedals or saddle, maybe this one does.
It sold in less than a day at $425 here in SoCal.
http://i816.photobucket.com/albums/zz87/Tbike4/Bianchi%20Nuova%20Racing%20clean/Side.jpg
oldbobcat
04-19-11, 07:52 PM
Looks like a 58cm to me.
Looks bigger than yours, like a 61 (ctt).
It's not extremely rare, but it is very sweet, one or two centimeters too big for me. Where's Bianchigirl? She'd love this.
rothenfield1
04-19-11, 10:12 PM
I wonder what the tubing is? I bet there are several people watching this bike and playing a waiting game for the price to drop. But, the seller has probably gotten the idea from some CL angel that the bike is worth more than he is asking. I'd fall in line with the 58cm sizing assessment. If it was a little closer to me, I wouldn't mind dropping by to take a look. If I had the money, I might offer between 375-400. But, it is Spring in SF, and someone will eventually get it for 425 IMO.
because of this:
I will not ship or get ripped off...Any offer involving form of payment made by "check" or "delivery" will be swiftly disregarded.
doesn't make for the most friendly of sellers and he's severely limiting himself.
Dan The Man
04-20-11, 05:39 AM
When looking at Craigslist my mind automatically filters anything that is written ALL CAPS and used the words RARE CHEAP AMAZING DEAL or has exclamation marks. These words usually mean the opposite of what they actually mean. The seller I imagine writing these ads is something like the market sellers in Mexico (and other warm countries) that yell at you to buy their stuff.
frantik
04-20-11, 06:15 AM
Looks bigger than a 54 to me.
thats because the picture in the ad is not the picture of the bike for sale.. if you google search "BIANCHI NUOVA" that flickr set TMH657 posted comes up as the 2nd result (right under bikeforums.net results). The bike in the picture only has campy derailers and shifters. Seller has no idea what they are talking about basically, they're too lazy to run spell check when trying to sell something for $500, and they sound like a d-bag to boot. Add in the fact that apparently the Nuova was the "entry level" Bianchi, it's still there.
Dan The Man
04-20-11, 06:27 AM
Yeah, looks like this bike gets around: http://velospace.org/node/25822
Funny how the components changed though. The second owner says that he parted it out. So I guess that makes this seller a scammer of some sort, either using a picture of a different bike, or selling a bike he doesn't own. Probably why it hasn't sold, he will just string along everyone who shows interest.
Nice photo from the catalog:
http://bulgier.net/pics/bike/Catalogs/Bianchi-84/3.jpg
frantik
04-20-11, 06:44 AM
for my own amusement i asked him for pics of the components
Bianchigirll
04-20-11, 07:48 AM
Looks bigger than yours, like a 61 (ctt).
It's not extremely rare, but it is very sweet, one or two centimeters too big for me. Where's Bianchigirl? She'd love this.
61 is a tad big but if it were a 59 or 60 and $300 shipped I would be interested. however I just finished building a Nouvo Racing with all Campi except the HS.
ElliotSF
04-20-11, 12:31 PM
Thanks for your comments, everyone. Something is definitely amiss here, because I've twice emailed the seller asking him/her when I can see the bike. No reply. I fear I'll now be bombarded with spam, because the "seller" is not really selling a Bianchi but instead collecting email addresses. I guess I'll never see those "Campagnolo bars and neck"!
frantik
04-20-11, 03:53 PM
Thanks for your comments, everyone. Something is definitely amiss here, because I've twice emailed the seller asking him/her when I can see the bike. No reply. I fear I'll now be bombarded with spam, because the "seller" is not really selling a Bianchi but instead collecting email addresses. I guess I'll never see those "Campagnolo bars and neck"!
also no reply yet. i sent the email from my CL-only account so im not worried bout spam
oldbobcat
04-22-11, 10:15 PM
61 is a tad big but if it were a 59 or 60 and $300 shipped I would be interested. however I just finished building a Nouvo Racing with all Campi except the HS.
Might be a 60.
frantik
04-22-11, 10:46 PM
the answer to why it hasn't sold: the seller does not reply to emails! :lol:
rothenfield1
04-22-11, 11:41 PM
the answer to why it hasn't sold: the seller does not reply to emails! :lol:
Some of the old-timers prefer carrier pigeon.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.