Forum Suggestions & User Assistance - Malware warning probably stemming from an ad???

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.




LesterOfPuppets
06-17-11, 02:15 AM
Might be a false positive of sorts, but I got a malware warning from Chrome saying BF is known to contain content from ravingbikefiend.com and Google Chrome dislikes that site for one reason or another.

Just a heads up.

EDIT: I didn't get the verbiage right, so here's quoted text:


Warning: Something's Not Right Here!
www.bikeforums.net contains content from .ravingbikefiend.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.
We have already notified www.ravingbikefiend.com that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on www.ravingbikefiend.com, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.


CbadRider
06-17-11, 01:34 PM
ravingbikefiend.com is a site from one of our BF members. He started a thread about the virus warnings: http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php/743939-Testing...

LesterOfPuppets
06-17-11, 09:52 PM
Oh, that's sixty fiver's site! I've been to it before with no warning. Yesterday was the first time I got the Chrome warning. Weird. I've seen that kind of thing before though. I reckon there must be some nefarious site(s) using the same hosting service as he.


CbadRider
06-17-11, 09:54 PM
He thinks his site was hacked. He's trying to sort things out.