Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling - Trouble with "Your Century Bicycle" thread..

Bikeforums.net is a forum about nothing but bikes. Our community can help you find information about hard-to-find and localized information like bicycle tours, specialties like where in your area to have your recumbent bike serviced, or what are the best bicycle tires and seats for the activities you use your bike for.
CFXMarauder
06-28-11, 07:03 PM
Anyone else having problems with reading this thread? My Browser(Google Chrome) pops up a Malware warning and will not let me proceed. Something about ravingbikefiend.net being a hacked site.. Anyone else?:(
Carbonfiberboy
06-28-11, 08:17 PM
I looked at the first and last pages with Google Chrome. No problem. What page were you having trouble with? The website you mention does not seem to exist.
unterhausen
06-28-11, 10:44 PM
I deleted some links yesterday that were on there to a site that had been hacked. It shouldn't give malware warnings now, I got them before I deleted the links yesterday
google's malware warnings are done in a brute force way. You weren't actually exposed to any malware, at least not in the last week or so.
There is a thread in the User Assistance forum (I think). It relates to Sixty-Fiver's own website which was hacked recently. However, according to the response from Tom Stormcrowe on that thread, Sixty-Fiver has fixed the problem, but google's malware warning system still has it listed.
Personally, I think that if you are going to post a picture, do it as a jpeg attachment rather than a link. That way, it remains permanently accessible to this site's users, rather than hundreds or thousands of empty boxes appearing on threads like the Century Bicycles one because the linked sites have expired, or the photos have been removed by the user without thinking of the links to it. And it avoids these malware notification issues.
CFXMarauder
06-29-11, 08:53 PM
I deleted some links yesterday that were on there to a site that had been hacked. It shouldn't give malware warnings now, I got them before I deleted the links yesterday
google's malware warnings are done in a brute force way. You weren't actually exposed to any malware, at least not in the last week or so.
Thanks !! Im able to view alot more of the thread now but still get a warning on pages 16-24..This is the warning...
Warning: Something's Not Right Here!
www.bikeforums.net contains content from www.ravingbikefiend.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.
Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.
We have already notified www.ravingbikefiend.com that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on www.ravingbikefiend.com, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.
If you understand that visiting this site may harm your computer, proceed anyway.
Help improve detection of malware by sending additional data to Google about sites on which you see this warning. This data will be handled in accordance with the Safe Browsing privacy policies.
unterhausen
06-30-11, 07:41 AM
if you note that its from raving bike fiend, he has taken that site off line and it's just google being somewhat incompetent.
I only found and edited one other instance in the range of pages you listed.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.